Monday 2/13


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Nijmegen
February 13th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

How have I gone my whole life without realizing that I lovetomato soup?!?

I woke up this morning with some sort of cold, I think a combination of the dry/cold air along with my still jetlagged body has caused this. I also have found out that I didn't bring enough pairs of boots. The working hours here are very short in comparison to the longer hours we work in the US, although they take a much shorter lunch. The colleagues here are very nice so far, and welcoming to me.

All the stores closed today at 6pm and I didn't get back to the hotel until right before then, so I still wasn't able to go out and get a bicycle for travelling around.



The hotel that NACCO booked for me is very nice - it has a some sort of a massage/spa thing going on and it's apparently very popular as a high-end hotel in Nijmegen.



It's interesting to talk to the locals and have them tell me that they love America, and would love to live here. I think this is very different than many other people's experiences during Bush's entire presidency.



I went to a triva night at a pub last night, and had a great blast. Some people immediately asked me to join once they saw I was American. We ended up getting 2nd place and I won a bottle of wine and free drinks for the whole night. The beer is pretty much the same you would find in the US in my opinion, except the well beer actually tastes decent. My new friends from the pub last night asked if I wanted to go visit the university here and tour it, but I got out of work later than normal today. We're going to try it sometime later this week.



I find myself eating more frequently because the portions are so much smaller. I should probably go work out also, I don't want to come back to the US a fatty.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb