Finally in Budva!


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Budva
June 27th 2013
Published: June 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a seven and a half hour bus journey from Ohrid, Macedonia, I finally arrived in Budva, Montenegro!

Upon my arrival at the bus station, I was immediately greeted by taxi drivers all willing to take me to my destination (Mojo Hostel). Instead, I opted to follow the printed map and walk to the hostel.

Since the reception officially opens at around 9am, I decided to hop online for a while and explore the wonderful world of the internet! lol

After sending some emails and updating my travel blog, I had a breakfast that consisted of an orange, changed my clothes and decided to head to the atm for some much needed cash, get a local sim card, and walk around the Old Town/beach area.

Budva is extremely touristic compared to Ohrid. It's only June 27th and there loads of cameras, maps, touts, boats, beach chairs and any and everything associated with tourists and mass tourism. So far I'm not feeling that kind of vibe at all.

I certainly miss Ohrid and it truly had a more 'local' vibe to it eventhough there are tourists there as well.

Even the hostel (at least today), seemed really empty. I was hoping to meet other travelers to hang out with like I did in Ohrid, but so far that hasn't been the case. At this point, I am staying here on a day to day basis to see how things unfold and develop.

I did, however, get a chance to see an associate of mine from Ulcinj. He drove up to Budva and we hung out for a few hours in the Old Town area before dropping me back to the hostel.

Hopefully tomorrow will be more interesting. I plan to visit Ulcinj in the morning to scope things out a bit so we'll see how that goes!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb