I wonder if Lux soap came from Luxembourg then.


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
January 7th 2006
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Luxembourg is a small country with a big visa stamp. Big for a country that small.

Well, actually, not really. It's got a good size of a stamp, but it wasn't a proper visa. I got it at the city tourist office, so it was kind of cheating.

I was ill all the way from Brussels to Luxembourg, so I can't tell you much about the drive. Whether it was scenic or not, I don't know. I would think so.

Spent most of my time there at the Christmas markets which was in the main square. There was the city tourist office there, and I got my passport stamped. I say, "Bonjour!" and after that say "Merci!" and that's all the French you need around the Luxembourg tourist office to get your stamp. Heh heh.


And then went around looking for a post office to send postcards to Mark and Fred. I should've just bought a nice postcard outside instead of getting them in the post office, because they only either had blank postcards, or actual proper Christmas cards. So I got postcards since that's what people do when they move about.

There was a
Market stallMarket stallMarket stall

Lookit all those little dolls!
picture of a stamp on the postcard, which I thought meant "place stamp here". Turned out that it was actually a stamp on its own. So I placed my stamp over it. Handed it over to the office person. And he says ... "Uh ... that was actually a stamp." Since the stamp is obscured, my postage is technically not enough.

He told me to try sending it anyway. Just a couple of days ago Mark told me he received it. Hurrah for the Lux postmen!

We had lunch at the market square, and since Dad had his Chinese cravings again, we managed to find a stall selling friend noodles. I would like to say that they made pretty decent fried noodles. However I was feeling sick in my stomach so I didn't have much. I would still highly recommend their fried noodles.

I don't know anything about Luxembourg but apparently 94% of them are Roman Catholics.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Market stall 2Market stall 2
Market stall 2

Hooray for Christmas hats! They sell sausages and hamburgers among other things.
Antiques and junkAntiques and junk
Antiques and junk

I think they're cool. You never know what you might find.
Funky lampsFunky lamps
Funky lamps

They will sell very well among the Chinese during their new year, I'm sure.
Green neon pharmacy signGreen neon pharmacy sign
Green neon pharmacy sign

The one that I was talking about in Brussels. It means the pharmacy is open.
The city tourist office!The city tourist office!
The city tourist office!

Where I got my passport stamped!
Luxembourg tourist office stampLuxembourg tourist office stamp
Luxembourg tourist office stamp

I seem to suck at taking pictures.
A little glimpse of the city beyondA little glimpse of the city beyond
A little glimpse of the city beyond

And a bridge over a nice park
Some kind of bridgeSome kind of bridge
Some kind of bridge

Looks very old. Better take a picture of it in case it's famous.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb