There are no kangaroos in Austria.


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Innsbruck
February 5th 2005
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

15th December 2005.

While we didn't see very much at all in Innsbruck, the bus ride there had to be the most fun.

BECAUSE.

THE SOUND OF MUSIC, PEOPLE.

When we entered Austria, the tour director played "the most famous song from Austria". Actually it's a song from Hollywood, set in Austria, and thus becomes the most famous song associated with Austria.

Edelweiss.

And thus, everybody on the bus started singing Edelweiss.

AND THEN! CUCKOO! CUCKOO!

It's the yodelling song! And thus the whole bus started going, ODELAYEEODELAYHEEEHOOO!

High on a hill was a lonely goatherd
ODELAYEEODELAYHEEEHOOO!

Loud was the voice of the lonely goatherd
ODELAYEEODELAYHEEEHOOO!

Yes, the Australians are a funny bunch. I think on our way into Austria, we stopped at some gas station, and SNOW! There was SNOW! Fresh snow which was so fluffy and powdery. Not too good for snowballs. But everyone had lots of fun jumping around in it. I bought two packs of REAL GERMAN GUMMIE BEARS! I still have a pack cause I hid it from my sister.

It was dark when we got to Austria even though it was only about 4:30pm, and it was very very cold. We went to see the Golden Roof in the square, Christmas market square I suppose, though I'm not sure what the significance of the roof is. Probably very old, very beautiful, very shiny, etc etc. When it's cold, you don't care about much else. Therefore we hid in McDonald's Austria. How about that.

We did take a look at the roof though, and I think it would've been more magnificent in the daytime. And because we were shaky from the cold, and because we don't have 1337 camera skills, and no tripod, the photo that came out was super blurry. In fact all of our photos of Austria are kind of bad.

Therefore sorry to say that I don't think I'll be uploading any pictures of Austria. Plus we were only in Innsbruck. I'd kick myself if I was in Vienna or Salzburg and none of my pictures turned out well. Oh by the way Salzburg is celebrating Mozart's 250th birthday this year.

The hotel that we stayed at had a coin-operated internet machine which ate up my money, because it was running on Windows 98 and KEPT CRASHING on me when I opened Gmail. Days later a girl told me someone was hacking into Google and Gmail that night. Just my luck hey? And oh I couldn't read anything for nuts too when the error script came out cause it was all in German.

Well, that's Austria. I thought I was going to watch The Sound of Music again when I get back ... but I didn't.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb