Luxemburgers....Yum


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My first couple of days in Luxembourg have been quite nice. Unfortunately I have the memory of a small, irritating house fly and haven't been able to remember all the names of places I've been, but I do know that the first night we went to a town called Echternacht....I think. It was this delightful old town and we got these massive ice creams. When I say massive, I mean massive. They are in these huge martini type glasses with large heart shaped waffle cookie dealies. Luxembourg is apparently the richest country in the EU, and because of it have exceptional food and cars all around. Some of the cars are part of the interesting sites to see, and just like a boy, Tobias feels it is not only his duty, but privelege to point out any car of interest. Lucky for him, I frankly do give a damn. I foolihsly didn't bring my camera with me to the little town, but Tobias got some pics on his phone that he will mail me. Man, I need to upload some pics on this! I think I will when I get to Denmark since I'll be there for a week.

Tobias's parents have been wonderful and the only thing I've paid for since I got here was €6 for some souvenirs incense. I only got them because of their hilarious names: Cannibus and Opium. HAHAHA, yea, I bought cannibus and opium 😊! Don't worry, it's not real. The second day I was here, Tobias's mom, Tobias and I went to go see this castle. There are apparently 70 castles throughout Lux! Who know? For such a tiny country, it has always been rather international. A lot of the EU crap is held here, most inhabitants speak 3 languages, and ...well, some more stuff too! There are only 200,000 Luxembourgers and every day 250,000 people from surrounding countries come in to Lux to work. Weeeeeeeird. The second day we saw a lot of castles and I learned a lot aobut the Duke...etc. I'll post stories with the pics. The third day we went downtown. It is a beautiful downtown area. Didn't see any homeless people, and it was very clean. THe outdoor cafes had tons of tables to sit on and they were just aobut always clean. And again,t he food is amazing. We went to get some pasta at this Italian run place and you could taste that the pasta was freshly and homemade. What a difference. Lots and lots of shops in Lux. That night Tobias and I went to go see Ocean's 13 which was an experience because it had French and Dutch subtitles. Cool!

Today has been rather pleasant and has mostly been spent reading and playing with the bird. I've read almost 600 pages in two days!! I hope to finish it before I leave so I can take the second in the series. It's a series I read when I was younger and they had on the bookshelf, and I couldn't sleep one night and it looked awesome to read. A new one came out in the series that I didn't know about, and while ago one I did which I never got around to reading. And since it has been so long I thought I would reread the whole series. Slightly interuppted for Harry Potter of course, but I can knock out one of those puppies in a night, so I'm not worried. I've got until midJuly! SO EXCITED BTW!!!!!!!!!


Well tomorrow I leave for Germany where I will be meeting up with a friend from my college (he was a foreign exchnage student) and the next day I'll be meeting up with a German I met in Australia who studied down there with me...and then the next day to Copenhagen!! Very exciting stuff!!!

Please email me! I get lonely!!

Advertisement



10th June 2007

cool stuff
so say Hi to Nils!! How cold is it over there now? I have no idea what the differential is like from north to south over there!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb