Brugge 12th to 14th September


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City » Walferdange
September 15th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I decided to come to Brugge - what a good call that was. I drove through the centre of town looking for the Bauhaus Hostel (which, incidently I booked only 40km away). I have a good feeling abou this place, I even negotiated the roundabouts without a problem!!!

I arrive safely at the hostel and within minutes have met and am chatting to a fellow biking traveler from NZ, Grant you star, brilliant advice and a map that is invaluable.

I had a wander into town and HELL!!! it took my breath away - Brugge is beautiful.

Monday night sees me bumping into 3 lads, 1 from Turkey and two scottish lads - one from Pitlochry. Its such a small world. I went for a quick drink with them berfore getting back to the hostel where I got chatting to another guy from NZ - what a star - Lim, you know who you are!!!!

Tue sees me having breckie with Grant and Lim before Lim and I head off to the Chocolate Museum - well what did you expect!! I'm in Belguim afterall. We decided to take the advice of my travel book for dinner (Thank you Andrew, its been invaluable!!). Only it closed some two minutes before we arrived. Typical, although everything happens for a reason, the reason was that we stumbled upon the most amazing little local bar. What a night!! A massive thank you to Martin, who will get an email and a new employee!!! And to Lim for his excellent company and advice.

Wed
All packed up and ready to go, sadly I might add, I already love Brugge. However, I'm going to head to Oktoberfest in Munich. Me at a beer festival I hear you say (question mark!!) I'm looking forward to it. As I write this I am camping in a lovely wooded area very close to Arlon on the Belgium-Luxembourg border. I'll decide the rest of mz route in the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb