Riga - well it's a start


Advertisement
Latvia's flag
Europe » Latvia » Riga Region » Riga
August 28th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Riga - Gertrudes iela


cnr of K Barona iela & Gertrudes ielacnr of K Barona iela & Gertrudes ielacnr of K Barona iela & Gertrudes iela

those cobblestones may keep me awake! - or the trams (from K&G)
Riga lunchtime - 1.30pm
(but I don't eat lunch, so I do not turn into a blimp as Melita suggested)

The bus to here left Tartu (Estonia) at 6.45am and the hotel gave me a little lunch/breakfast polystyrene box of sandwiches and a bottle of orange juice - wasn't that nice, as leaving too early for breakfast. There was seriously hardly anyone staying there - and I had both the one breakfast and dinner I had there alone.

Anyway having left Estonia some alleged facts about it - Estonia has the worst traffic accident fatality rate in Europe - and the way they hoon around the streets of Parnu I can believe it. Although I do not think I was the subject of a "crime" re loss of money some Brit posted a piece here (now removed by me - cos I can) on the subject of Parnu being the crime centre of Estonia and how he was almost robbed at 2.15am in the morning for stopping to "help" someone - yeah, yeah OK, there are always some stories like that - but not on my blog thanks - this is a family show

They also seem to smoke a lot - well maybe it was only Tallinn and they were all Russian tourists - or Finns, who also seem to a lot. Maybe cos the prices in Estonia are so cheap - 32-36Kr a packet ($4 and less) - and such piles of displays of packets and prices - they need some tobacco nazis from NSW Health to "consult" on the issue and drive it all underground.

So now I am in Latvia - and the local language sounds quite different from Estonian (it is apparently) and more like Russian. It was interesting we had a 10min. stop in a town - and we were leaving down a suburban street and I saw a Euro blue sign with yellow stars on with Latvija on the facing side - and yes as we went past it was Estonia on the back side of it. So borders are no big thing. I did not have to show any travel documentation on the boat coming or going from Helsinki to Tallinn either - all in the Schengen zone.

I changed my money, as I had 9700 Kr of Estonian at a GE Money Bank - went into one and nothing doing after 10 mins of taking a ticket so I walked - and the only other bank I was found was also GE, but they served me sraight away. Bit of shock in terms of readjustment to local money - after 9 Kroons to 1 AUD - now 1 AUD is only worth about 0.40 Lati (and the 9700Kr became 430L!). The walk to my B&B - or to find one - was rather lengthier than I thought it was going to be from the bus station (the tram on the way back I think)- and I had considered turning back and going into the closer Old Town - which would have been more scenic but more expensive and I might have ended up in a hostel - oh dear. Anyway Krisjanis and Gertrude B&B (K&G from now on - and in photo captions) was on the LP list - there were 2 other options in this street which is always a good idea if one is full you do not have to go far to try another. Oh dear dot dot ......4 flights of stairs to get up to second floor - oh well only one slog up, and one down I suppose with a bag that seems to be more stuffed and heavier by the day (its only a few extra shirts Mum!). I arrived without a booking (with no credit card you can't do anything on line either) - they only have 6 rooms - hence the need for other close options nearby. Anyway I feel somewhat guilty as she has given me an available huge triple room (double and single bed) really - its almost a suite compared to what I have had - and at only 25L a night - I think she should have charged me 30L which seems the normal single rate, but anyway I aint arguing. It is over the street and the sound of cars over cobble stones could be hypnotic (COULD be I said). My opening 3 pics are of the corner view because you all expect it now don't you?! I almost feel like a nap actually - a slight nod might refresh before a bit of a tour...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb