Prizren Day Two


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » South » Prizren
June 20th 2023
Published: June 22nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

I feel better when I wake up so head to breakfast. No pastries today but I eat a cake bread instead which is good. I go for another walk before work and get the feeling that even with missing yesterday I will have seen most of the touristy side if Prizren if I head the castle at night. I really like this beautiful city though. It was barely touched in the war so has all its old school charm. Its lively, has a great vibe even at 9am.

I work for the morning then head to the river for lunch. I have an amazing burrito which is more like a fajita but it’s amazing. I have two cokes then head back for the afternoon. At 6 I log off and head straight to the castle.

It is 28 degrees even at 6PM and the 25 minute walk feels very difficult. I stop a lot and wander how I did an 8 hour hike only last week. The views are beautiful though and the castle at the top is very similar, albeit smaller than Shkoder castle. The scenery is mountains to the back and I spend a long time taking pictures of wild flowers before walking the length of the wall and finding a view spot overlooking the river to watch sunset. It is beautiful and the hour and a half passes quickly in a glaze of pink and orange. I sit there snapping photos very content.
A family ask me to take photos of them, causing me to nearly miss the actual sunset but they are so enthusiastic and happy I don't mind too much.

After the sun is down I head down taking care on the steep downhill but it only takes 25 minutes to town. I pop to a chemist to buy razors and wander through the streets just enjoying the energy from the bars. Eventually I settle and order two cocktails which cost me 10 euros. I catch up on whatsapp and insta before heading back.


2 coke
2 cocktails
4 water
Pastries, bread, jam, yoghurt, chicken burrito


7euro




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb