I Hear That You Like Food...


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » Centre » Prishtina
March 5th 2015
Published: March 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Best Coffee in the WorldBest Coffee in the WorldBest Coffee in the World

Every single time!
...so I've been eating! Oh, and doing other things too!

I've had so many wonderful experiences these past couple of weeks, it's hard to name them all. I have a new office-mate, Fiona, who is absolutely awesome. We've had lunch a couple of times. I ran into Leurata after work and we went out for coffee and went clothing shopping. I didn't buy clothing then, but later I bought socks and I hope to get some t-shirts and scarves soon. I also bought some amazing silver earrings, but they are going to be gifts for people so I'm not going to upload pictures of them yet until they've been given (probably end of March after I come back to take the MPRE and then return to Kosovo). For those curious about the price of handmade silver earring in the traditional style, they range from small ones starting out at 8-10 Euros, medium ones (like I got) in the 15-20 Euro range, and then large ones with a great deal of intricate work for 20-30 Euros. The traditional style is awesome, it's so detailed and organic looking.

I went to a really popular restaurant and had a traditional dish that
Burek and VegBurek and VegBurek and Veg

I bought the burek, but then I sliced and fried up the zucchini myself. It was a good combo.
for the life of me I cannot remember it's name. Perhaps some of my Kosovar friends can help me out in the Facebook comments? Then I'll update the post.

I also had a really nice bottle of local red wine. I'm not a wine expert, and it's probably not dry enough for most people who know red wine, but I really liked it (I can't stand really dry wine).

Tomorrow, I'm going to take a trip to Bulgaria with a group run by UNMIK (United Nations Mission in Kosovo). I'm going to Bansko. I hope to have a lot of exciting photos for you in a few days!

To my friends back in Iowa, stay warm! (I won't rub it in by telling you how nice it is here).


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Don't Remember ThisDon't Remember This
Don't Remember This

It was good. I really don't remember what it was called though. I ate it in a really popular restaurant near a different ministry building.
I Eat SaladI Eat Salad
I Eat Salad

And I ate this at the pizza place. Why not pizza at the pizza place? Because their pizzas are huge and my companion was not eating lunch. We split a pizza today though, so don't worry that I'm not getting enough pizza in my diet.
Salad is healthy!Salad is healthy!
Salad is healthy!

And this was tasty too.
Leurata Has TeaLeurata Has Tea
Leurata Has Tea

Looking beautiful in her wrap. This was just after we went shopping at the mall.
Just Lawyer Things - Constitutional CourtJust Lawyer Things - Constitutional Court
Just Lawyer Things - Constitutional Court

I totally stumbled across this place by accident. I had no reason to go inside though, so I didn't.
Kosovar WineKosovar Wine
Kosovar Wine

It was pleasantly not-dry, but not sweet either. I don't really no how to describe it because I know next to nothing about wine.
New NewbornNew Newborn
New Newborn

I just realized I never uploaded a pic of the new colors on the Newborn sign. Repainted on independence day!


9th March 2015

You look so thin and lovely. I am glad things are going so well.

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb