Pictures of the City


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » Centre » Prishtina
December 8th 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is voting Day!!!!! I found that out while getting my hair cut, the results will be announced on Monday, which is when I thought the voting took place. It will also explain the large number of News, Military, Police, UN, EU, and OSCE vehicles around Prishtina today, I guess there was a small uprising near the Serbian border. Oh well here are some pictures of the city and of a Byrek (Bur-eck). -Ted


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Serbian ChurchSerbian Church
Serbian Church

The Serbs started building this Church, from what I'm told for no other reason than to anger the Muslim majority of Kosovo. It was never finished and never will be.
University of KosovoUniversity of Kosovo
University of Kosovo

This building when I first saw I thought was absolutely ugly!!!!! But now that I've seen it a few times it's pretty cool looking.
Downtown againDowntown again
Downtown again

The weird looking building in the background is the convention center/arena
Old Communist Apartment HousesOld Communist Apartment Houses
Old Communist Apartment Houses

There are buildings like this all over, they are the old Communist Housing Projects.......I wouldn't recommend using the elevator. Most of these do not have back up Generators.
Bill Clinton BlvdBill Clinton Blvd
Bill Clinton Blvd

Looking up Bill Clinton Blvd.
50 Cent50 Cent
50 Cent

50 cent is performing here December 17th.
Really neat looking houseReally neat looking house
Really neat looking house

I saw this building and thought it was really nice looking. Then as I got close to it, I realized it is Croatia's Liason Office.
DisappointingDisappointing
Disappointing

This picture is the thing that I dislike the most about Kosovo. It is hard to see but on the hill side in front of the buildings that mound is all thrash.
The last oneThe last one
The last one

This building is the last large one that has not been restored from the damage of the war. I am told some people here want it to stay just like it is.
Mother TheresaMother Theresa
Mother Theresa

This used to be one of the busiest roads in Downtown, They recently turned it into a mall for pedestrians.
The mosquesThe mosques
The mosques

The 4 main mosques in Prishtina are all a very short distance away, I haven't found a spot where I can get all 4 towers into a picture yet.
Byrek and YogurtByrek and Yogurt
Byrek and Yogurt

This is a real traditional lunch here, it is a Byrek w/Yogurt, the yogurt here is more liquidy almost heavy cream consistency. The Byrek is a dough similar to Phyllo Dough that is stuffed with pretty much anything and baked.
Sidewalk HazardsSidewalk Hazards
Sidewalk Hazards

This is one of many things that are on the "sidewalk", I have seen cars parked on this, but I will not walk on it!!!!!


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb