Finally Made It To Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 18th 2014
Published: June 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

What a long way we have come, both physically and technologically. We left home 22 hours ago and are sitting in the airport in Rome waiting for the rest of our group.

The last couple of days have been so busy, there was no time to write anything. I had some last minute work but mostly it was just last minute stuff.

I really had to pack for 2 trips, one for Italy and another for after Italy. After Italy includes possible cold weather and another month of travel. It includes concerts both dressy and casual events. In Italy I have a skirt, tees, Capri pants and levis.

So you might wonder how our flights were. Well this has been quite a journey, a real adventure so far. I actually hope that this things settle down a bit.

We got into Frankfurt and had to go thru customs, then a boarding pass control, then security. All of this in less than an hour. The security had to do a major check on Sunny, even taking off her boot. We barely made it to the gate for our flight to Rome.

As we were at the gate Sunny couldn’t find her passport. She was sure that she had handed it to me. I mostly emptied out my 2 bags and it was nowhere to be found. I literally ran to the security gates and they did a search, calling even the customs. It was nowhere. I ran the entire way back to the gate and we were the last ones on. I told Sunny that we’d have one of our German friends call and then worst case we’d get another one.

We boarded our flight and sat down, then started tearing up our bags. When I went to check the backpack front pocket Sunny remembered that she’d put the passport in the front pocket. All that running for what?

We got to Rome and someone found Sunny’s wheelchair. A passenger assistant pushed her to the baggage claim. So Sunny’s bag came but mine didn’t. I fortunately packed in my small backpack a couple of pairs of undies and a clean top. Guess I’ll be wearing jeans. I did pack my tripod in my bag so hope it arrives soon.

Once the rest of our group joins us will be off to Assisi.

I will post photos tomorrow. I’ve been up way too long to figure them out.

Advertisement



19th June 2014

WOW!
Well I knew that you were running fast and furious the last couple of weeks and it sounds as though it really hasn't slowed down. 2 things of note; I cannot believe they took off her boot and then I cannot believe all of that running and it was in her front pocket. But...it has happened that way for all of us at one time or another, but I bet you were in chaos / overdrive with the thought that you couldn't locate it. I am here with Elizabeth in lovely little Abilene, TX with nice 3" hail damage. We are excited even if the claims she has are National Lloyd's (insurer of last resort). She told the firm she is working with that my forte is commercial and we are going to see if they have any to give to us. We went to breakfast and out for provisions and saw some NICE hail damage on apartment buildings and other commercial property. So we are hoping for some commercial stuff too. I so look forward to seeing some photos of you all!

Tot: 0.466s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb