Selecting the Right Backpacker's Gear


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 20th 2011
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

October 11, 2010

Part of this European adventure is the freedom of mobility. Being on the go, I do not want to be bogged down with cumbersome luggage. Nowadays there are so many options for both luggage and day packs that I spent a couple months researching before I made my selection. Whatever you choose, make sure it is comfortable for you. Below are descriptions of how I selected my luggage.

Choosing a Luggage Bag


Rolling Suitcases - These are easiest to move about when there are paved pathways. Rolling luggage means no weight on your back and you are therefore not limited to the style of day pack you bring (backpack, messenger, etc.). However, just because you have wheels does not mean you will never have to carry the bag when presented with cobble stone paths and stairs. The suitcase still needs to be light enough that you can carry it when required.

Backpack - Even though you will be your own pack mule, backpacks allow for hands-free travel. You can skate right over those cobble stone streets and trek right up a flight of stairs. Carrying all your gear on your back also encourages you to pack as light as possible because you will feel the weight of all your belongings. You will be limited in your choice of day pack, unless you want to wear a second backpack on your front.

Combo - Backpacks with hide-away wheels are really functional for some. With the same pros and cons of backpack versus suitcase, you have the option to switch when one becomes inconvenient. Rolling backpacks are heavier because of the added weight of the wheels and frame.

My Luggage Choice: I opted to go with the Rick Steves Convertible Carry-On for $100. While visiting his store in Edmonds, Washington, I tried out a pack that was loaded with 20 lbs. of gear already and found that it was very comfortable to wear. At 9" x 21" x 14" and 3 lbs, the backpack is still small enough to fit in the overhead compartment of an airplane. The front of the bag has three pockets of various sizes and a water bottle compartment, while the interior compartment is large and square like a suitcase. The bag will expand, but I believe this will make it too large to be a carry on. The backpack straps hide
CitySafe 200CitySafe 200CitySafe 200

Many reviews online say the side pocket will not hold a water bottle. Shown here, a 20 oz bottle fits just fine.
away when you want to carry the bag as a duffel. It does not come with the shoulder strap, which can be purchased for an additional $12. I am really satisfied with this selection and I think it will fit my travel needs very well. Check out the bag in Rick Steves' video review.

Choosing a Day Pack


My Minimum Requirements: After deciding to use a backpack as my main luggage bag, I was limited to the kind of daypack available. With one bag on my back, the other had to be worn messenger-style, over the shoulder. I wanted to avoid being that guy with a second back pack on the front. Just say no to tacky tourist. The bag also needed to be able to carry items such as: netbook, large camera, guidebook, phrasebook, journal, water bottle, miscellaneous small accessories, and room to pack random other things, like lunch or shopping items. All compartments also needed to be secure with zippers, not just a big flap over the main compartment. Below are two bags I purchased and tested. I ended up with the second, PacSafe CitySafe 200.

Attempt #1: The Rick Steves Veloce Shoulder Bag

* Specifications: The exterior dimensions are 13"W x 15"H x 4"D (Expanded, bottom of bag is 7"D, tapering upward back to 4"D). The bag weighs 1.5 lbs. Under the front flap are several small pockets, including a security pocket. The main compartment has a padded pocket for a laptop. It sits vertically and can be worn as a messenger bag or backpack.
* Cost: Around $60, but I found it was sold at a discount at AAA stores.
* Pros: Lots of pockets, there is a place for everything you want to bring. The security pocket is just big enough for a passport and folded wad of cash. The convertible carrying function was highly useful and it was very comfortable as a backpack. With a relatively shallow profile, the bag does not stick out too far when worn.
* Cons: The bag was too bulky to be worn messenger-style. The padding on the shoulder strap is secured, which means that if you switch the position of the bag, the padding on the strap moves, too. While it was useful to have a laptop section, this feature pretty much divides your compartment into two 2" wide spaces, which was too small to comfortably accommodate my large camera. Also, its vertical orientation seemed to pull more on my shoulder when fully packed.
* Conclusion: The bag went with me on a test run in Hawaii. For me, the bag probably would have been fine if it sat horizontally as a messenger bag, but it was just too tall and bulky on my 5'-0" frame. I discovered that I only liked wearing it as a backpack, which was the deal breaker because I really needed it to be worn as a messenger bag. The shoulder strap is detachable, so if you do not like the strap it came with, you could get a different one. I would still recommend this bag, I think it would work well for many other people with different gear requirements than me. Visit a AAA store to check out the bag in person.

Attempt #2: PacSafe CitySafe 200 Purse

Other Comments About Choosing a Bag


My goal is to take whatever is most comfortable to carry all day. I also kept in mind that many churches and museums will make you check large backpacks before you enter the facility. Since I did not want to part with my bag, this also helped dictate the size I selected. Also, I am sure I will encounter situations or places where a backpack would make me more vulnerable to pick pockets. It was useful knowing what I intended to carry as well. Getting a bag that is larger than my needs would have tempted me to stuff it full. It would then become heavy and cumbersome and could contribute to a less than enjoyable time. Since I was acting the Goldilocks on my quest for the perfect bag, "This one's too big, this one's too small," I looked for retailers that carried the products I was interested in. I brought everything I intended to carry and tested out the bags in the store. They won't mind if you walk around the store with their product in use if it means an eventual sale. The brands I liked were Overland, Eagle Creek, and PacSafe.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

See my June 21, 2011 "Day 1" blog. The back pack was a good idea except...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb