The Hulk and Hot Dogs


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 29th 2008
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Peace Up A-Town DownPeace Up A-Town DownPeace Up A-Town Down

Me and the Hulk
Haven't posted any blogs in awhile since I've just been hanging out in Vicenza and what I do on a day to day basis here isn't all that interesting! Had a night out on the town last night though with Cristina and one of her friends Kelli and I thought it was interesting enough to post a blog about it 😊 We went to dinner at our usual spot then headed out and about to a few of the local bars where I witnessed my first of a few Italian bachelor parties. In America we like the bride or groom-to-be to have one last hoorah before they get married by getting them extremely intoxicated and danced on by naked men or women. We take care of our bachelors and bachelorettes and want to make sure they have a great and memorable time. However, this is not the case in Italy. The objective of a bachelor party in Italy is to embarrass and humiliate the groom. The first one I witnessed was while we were at dinner and the poor bachelor was forced to carry a cross on his back across the Piazza as if he was to be crucified...this was no
The GirlsThe GirlsThe Girls

Me, Cristina, and Kelli
small cross mind you, it was as big as him. Unfortunately, I missed the photo opp for this one. However, at another bar I was lucky enough to catch another bachelor party and this time join in on the fun! The poor guy was painted completely green, wearing shredded shorts in order to look like the Hulk. His friends then tried to get us girls to play tug of war and I was the only one to volunteer. I had some help though, his friends tied my end of the rope to a sewage grate so I wouldn't get thrown across the bar in my high heels. Not sure what the whole point of that activity was but now I can say I played tug-of-war in Italy with the Incredible Hulk! I also experienced my first public restroom in Italy...A HOLE IN THE GROUND, which I opted not to use and decided to just walk back to the apt. for restrooom breaks. A helpful hint I was taught though in the case I ever have to use one...Grab a large wad of toilet paper and place it on the "toilet", this prevents your urine from splattering all over you. Thanks
HmmHmmHmm

Don't know what their signs said
Kelli! Also, another first for me was eating an Italian hot dog. Not too bad..a little on the salty side and could have used some chili and a softer bun but who can complain at 4am?! Good times, good times.
Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lost in TranslationLost in Translation
Lost in Translation

His shirt said "Mind your business!" in a vulgar way? Uhhh....dont' worry I don't get it either
Tug-Of-War!Tug-Of-War!
Tug-Of-War!

Getting pointers from a local
Tug-Of-War!Tug-Of-War!
Tug-Of-War!

Getting rope burn
AwwwAwww
Awww

They made him take his shorts off! What great friends he has!
To Pee or Not to PeeTo Pee or Not to Pee
To Pee or Not to Pee

That is the question.....and I chose not to!
YUMMYYUMMY
YUMMY

My first Italian Hot Dog!


29th June 2008

Gotta love those turkish toilets!!!!!!!
29th June 2008

Thats my girl!
You are such a participator (is that a word?) Looks like you are having such a great time. Keep livin it up because I am now living (and vacationing) vicariously through you! :)
30th June 2008

hi
That toliet still looked nicer than the ones in Korea!
3rd July 2008

These type of toliets are common throughout Asia and Europe

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb