My trip to Germany and Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
December 14th 2007
Published: December 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I appologize for my procrastination in writing about my recent experience in Germany and Italy. I don't really have a good excuse, I suppose I've just been pretty lazy!

My trip was very amzing. I really enjoyed Germany's beauty and its holiday tradition. It was amazing to drive through the black forests and see the small mideval villiages covered in sknow. We stopped in one villiage to see its festivities, and it was cool to see how into the holiday spirit this small village was. It reminded me of a hallmark christmas villiage model you see in the stores. The family we stayed with was quite hospitable and provided us with food and a place to sleep, which is just about all you can ask for when you are a young traveller.
Rome was extraordinary! It was unforgettable to be able to stand infront of structures made around 2000 years ago. I was even able to see Caeser's tomb. The Vatican was unbelievable with its huge structures and artwork.
The hostel we stayed at was really amazing. It was like being at camp with all the bunkbeds and young people. The best part was everyone here spoke English! It was like being back home again. Ali and I met a couple from Australia and really hit it off well. They were our same age and had the same style of humor! I really loved rome and hope to visit more of italy someday soon. I've posted some pictures and video for everyone to see. Be sure to check the photos and videos section.

Christmas is very near, and the holiday spirit is really taking off here in Madrid. There are decorations, Christmas markets, lights, cold weather, and lots of people everywhere. They recently constructed an ice skating rink right near my house next to a giant illuminated christmas tree made of only lights (spectacular), but I don't believe it is yet open to the public. I was going to check it out, because ice skating would be really fun right now.
Today was my last day of work until after I return from Africa, and I'm really excited to be able to enjoy the Christmas season by sleeping in late!! Waking up at 7 every morning can begin to make on sleepy, especially at the age of 19.
Good news for my Belgium/Holland trip in March: Ali's dad used to live and work there and so he has friends he has contacted about me staying with them while I'm passing through. Ali and I have sent an E-mail to a lady named Consuelo, who was originally an aerospace engineer but changed her profession to being a professional belly dancer! I guess she is one of the most well known dancers in the region. The plan is to arrive in Brussels the 18th of March at 9 am, and immediately catch a bus to Amsterdam, and stay there from Tuesday until Friday. I hope to visit some of the important museums there and even the Ann Frank house. Amsterdam will be really fun I think, beings that it is the stereotypical youth city of fun and amusement. It will be a good way to celebrate my birthday. Friday the plan is to return to Brussels and stay there until Tuesday, and do some possible travelling to cities like Brugges and maybe even visit Luxomborg City.

I've attatched some pictures for everyone to see. I attempted to attatch a video but it was taking too long. Enjoy!
Love Dave


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb