Spectaculissimo


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
March 30th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ciao. Left the Dolomites behind this morning. Truly spectacular and hard to come up with the appropriate adjectives. Seeing Otzi, the ice man, was truly cool also. Chilling. Actually frozen. He is still kept pretty chilled so he doesn't decompose. We did some good hiking and I had a Radler in good old german fasion. We are now in Verona. Home of those young lovers Romeo and Juliet. Jim and I are a lot like those young star crossed lovers. Well, then again, maybe not a lot a like them. Verona is very pretty and we wrap things up in Venice in a few days. Pictures to follow when we get home.
Squirrel

The Alps are fantastico bellisimaximo! Freaking unbelievable, that's where-I-want-to die beautiful. Did I mention how breathtaking it was? Now we are in a city of some kind. Who cares? Ok, it's still Italy, true, but there are no mountains. At least I got to see them. We got to walk through fields of cows, look at black sheep, speak German (that's Germanic, for Mark), climb about 400 meters, and ride a cable car. Cool! It was like Germany, only it was still Italy. You never knew how someone was going to greet you. When they realized you couldn't speak German they would speak Italian. Wrong again! Anyway, I just wanted to tell John he needs to get on a plane right now and go to the Alps. Trust me. You will never leave. But you can wait till we get back. Grazie. I have thought of many things to say but now none of them are coming back to me. Sorry. We'll do a slide show or something when we return. Almost over so can't waste time sitting here. Know you copesco.
moose

Advertisement



30th March 2008

cannot wait to see the photos
I am waiting to have my breath taken away by these pix!! :)
31st March 2008

Looking forward to pics - and you!
It all sounds so wonderful. I can't wait to see the photos. I'm also looking forward to seeing you, too!
1st April 2008

Alps
I hve to concur with you about the Alps having seen them in Switzerland and France they are simply spectacular. The rockies are great but the Alps are breathtaking. Reading the blog brings the memories flooding back. THANKS!!! Miss you, Joe
1st April 2008

Otzi
Ben would be so thrilled to hear about your visit to see Otzi. We recently watched a documentary about him and he was fascinated. He's been trying to make arrowheads ever since and still keeps talking about what caused Otzi's ultimate demise. Hope you took pictures. I'm glad you're having a great trip. It sounds wonderful.

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb