Weekend in Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
July 30th 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kiwi in VeniceKiwi in VeniceKiwi in Venice

Kiwi - Gondola - Venice. what more does one need to say?
Well I've just come back from a long weekend in Venice. It was blissfully hot and sunny (unlike London which is just muggyly hot, humid and grey - go figure).

I arrived on Friday night and managed to land myself a room in a campsite on the mainland, one of my room mates was a soft spoken Canadian women, the other....... well I think she was Australian. She turned up round 1am when I and the Canadian were in bed and I was reading my Venice book - sussing out the next days plan. She walked in didn’t say hi to either of us, jumped up onto the top bunk (which was above me) 2min later she complained about the heat and asked for some water, which the Canadian gave her. 10min later she falls/leaps off the bed and onto the floor, hitting the 2 open wardrobe doors as she goes. When asked if she was alright she replied slurring "yup I'm just really drunk" and stumbled out the door. A few min later we hear vomiting out front of our cabin. Big decent man sounding vomiting that lasted at least half an hour. Then she came back inside
St Marcs St Marcs St Marcs

Bling Bling Mosaic
and after a couple of goes got up on the top bunk again. 5min later she starts vomiting again, as I’m on the bunk underneath I’m a bit concerned, so I hand up a plastic bag - only to be informed by the Canadian (who had a good view) that she vas vomiting out the window beside her bed.
When I first got into bed I had been wondering why anyone would choose the top bunk in this heat, forward planning would be the answer. Eventually we turned off the room light. And I went to sleep listening to this women vomiting above me. Nice start to Venice.

The next day and the 2 after however were fabulous!!! Venice has got to be the most beautiful city in the world. It’s the perfect city to mooch in. I walked and walked and ate really good ice cream and walked and looked at beautiful art and buildings and then more walking and more ice cream.
I didn’t go on a gondola but I did go on the water bus that goes up and down the Grand Canal. I also went out to the lido and had a swim
Boat repair placeBoat repair placeBoat repair place

Its a random gondola repair place with a church in the background
in the Adriatic which was lovely.
St Marcs Basilica was gorgeous, bling, bling, gold mosaic everywhere and a choir singing at the same time. The Doges' palace was amazing too. Fantastic ceilings and what was at one time the biggest room in Europe, which I have to admit I wish I had a pair of socks for - to slide around on the floor with. I mean come on - it was all slippy marble and all!

Other highlights were the random Kiwi and Irish dude I had dinner with on Saturday night. They were trying to tell me that they were hot dog sales men out at the airport. Go figure - my drunken pub job is being a tinsel tester and my flatmate Jac’s is being a dolphin trainer. As I sat drinking my stein of beer (that’s a whole litre dontchya know) I thought “they could do better”. They Aussie girl I had dinner with the next night was far more realistic - she’s off to Russia to teach English apparently. We drunk our litre of wine together, ate pasta and talked shit, as all good tourist’s do.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Crazy Round GlassCrazy Round Glass
Crazy Round Glass

I love this round glass that appears in all the church's and buildings!
Random alleyRandom alley
Random alley

Venice is full of hidden gems


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb