EuroTrip Day 22


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 29th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh man, not only is this place better, but the beds are by far the best I’ve had in any of the hostels so far. Yes, even better than the ones in Paris. I slept SOOOOOO good this morning.

I got up, got ready, and noticed that this place even provides soap for you in the showers. This may not sound like a big deal to you, but when you’re backpacking and staying in hostels, it’s quite the welcome surprise.

So last night I had trouble booking my flight for today. I tried calling Vueling’s customer service number, but to no avail, they couldn’t accept my card for some reason. I then had to find a travel agent to book it, and then pay them with the card. It definitely cost a little more, but whatever, at least I wouldn’t be on a train for 295040304985 hours.

With my flight all booked, I just simply hung around for a couple hours. Got some lunch, handled some stuff on the internet until 3 o’clock came around. At lunch, I went into this little whole in the wall place that seemed good. It was. I chatted with the owner for a while and took advantage of the free wifi.

After lunch, I went back to the hostel, grabbed my bag and headed to the train station for a 30 minute train ride to the airport. Now I’m here, very early for my flight and a little bored. Oh well, in a few hours I’ll be in Venice!!!! I’ll update you guys with what happens tomorrow. Take care and I miss you all!

UPDATE: So I flew into Marco Polo airport at about 9:30pm. The flight went smoothly and rather quickly since I was watching Pulp Fiction. When I arrived I was a bit nervous because this was the first country of the trip where I would not know ANY of the language. However, upon exiting the plane I noticed Italian isn’t as difficult as I thought. Not that I’m an expert or anything, but by knowing Spanish and French, it really helps. Plus, it seems many more people here speak English which is nice.
I grabbed the bus that headed into Venice and got to the hostel around 11 or 11:30. Checked in. To my surprise, the room was actually pretty cool. (pics included). I then walked around for a little while, grabbed some pizza, etc. I then noticed that everything was closed, so I just went back to the hostel. This time my roommates were there. There was a New York girl and her cousin from Philly. There was also a guy from Tokyo. All of them were very nice and we just hung out and chatted for a while. We were all really tired, so we went to bed somewhat early.





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



30th June 2008

Mmm.....
Damn?! That pizza looks good! Ok.... NOW you can talk s**t! I'm reading this one from work. LOL!

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 65; dbt: 0.2001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb