Day One


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Spoleto
July 10th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ah, it starts.... jet lag, I mean. This is the worst part of any trip! I tried to sleep on the plane, swear. But when's the last time you were on a plane for longer than 2 hours? Have you tried to make your own first class fully reclining bed in a seat that doesn't recline and is extremely uncomfortable? I think it would be worth the amount of money we consumers pay if international flights were all first class fully reclining seats. A girl can dream!

Along with the manic jet lag and semi-unfamiliarity of a foreign language, I've already gotten lost and sweat off at least two pounds. I must have been really guilty about all the food I ate today and the gelato I just drooled over. Spoleto is a beautiful town and it's got so many hidden areas to explore and discover. HOWEVER...one must take caution in walking to walk. It's easy to get lost and even easier to stay lost when the temperature is mid-80's and humidity is at least 40%. But, I come from the desert so any place with humidity pretty much gets my goose.

After that walk this afternoon, I went back to my cozy (piccolo) room and put my poor swollen feet up for a minute. I walked back downstairs because we're now on a walking tour of Spoleto. This time, I found the most wonderful thing ever - a moving walkway!!!! It's a smal feat to climb the hill that leads to it, but it's worth it I swear. I also found the library, an internet cafe/bar, and Lorenzo's uncle who has the greatest ricotta I've ever had in my life. He also happens to carry lots of truffle-related products.

I can't wait to see what tomorrow brings!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb