Day 1 - Arrival in Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
September 8th 2015
Published: September 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Benvenuto to my trip blog!

This first post is to let everyone know that I have arrived in Italy without mishap (yet).

At 7 PM last night, I took the good old C & J Bus to the airport - many thanks to Naira for the drop off at Pease!

My Alitalia flight departed at 10:50 PM nonstop to Rom arriving at 12:50 PM today. There were no delays and it was the most pleasant international flight that I can remember. No crying babies, etc. The plane seemed brand new, and for those of you who know of my germaphobe tendencies, I can report that I only needed to use 2 of my wet wipes!

I amused myself waiting for the flight by reading an entertainin article about fanny packs that VJ had passed on to me. When in Europe, I am never without my version of a fanny pack - my money belt. I can only hope that the article is signaling a trend back toward the fanny pack. I will also note that I observed a youngish Italian guy at my dinner restaurant with a leather fanny pack.

My journey today did not end in Rome. I caught the train from the airport to the central train station in Rome (Termini). From there, a train took me to Terontola where I switched trains for Perugia. From the Perugia train station,I took the Mini Metro, a single car, "people mover", 25 people per car, running every minute and a half around the town My final destination was the Primavera Mini Hotel, a quaint building in the heart of old Perugia.



Food report:

A Nice breakfast of yogurt, fruit, and a pain au chocolat on the airplane.

Lunch - a takeaway salad of arugula,rice, quinoa, feta and pomegrnate seeds purchased at Termini and eaten on the train.

Dinner - Ostaria dei Priori (recommended by my innkeeper. Lentil Soup and Braised local beef (Chianini).

Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb