More. Snow.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
February 15th 2012
Published: February 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Walking in to the apartmentWalking in to the apartmentWalking in to the apartment

bring ice skates..
Welp, 8 days later, I swear I am alive. School work is getting legit and midterms start next week. Not to mention, I have a giant Italian test on Thursday that I really need to study for tonight or there will be a problem...
Everyone who says study abroad classes are "fluffy" and "GPA boosters" and "easy A's" did not come to Umbra. I do more homework here than at Bonaventure.

This week has been pretty busy homework-wise. Last weekend we stayed in Perugia but made the most of it in every way possible. We went to a different club every night and got a meter long pizza on Saturday. The earliest I got home over the weekend was 4:30am Sunday. This, and the STILL miserable weather are most likely the reasons for the surprise head cold I got Sunday night. I'm getting better and tomorrow I think I'll be back to normal. Just in time for another weekend in Perugia!

Remember my February 1st post about the awful blizzard we got here? Well it's still here. At this point I'm honeslty sick of it. There hasn't been snow on the ground for over 2 days in 30 years, if I didn't already post that, but it's now been here for 2 weeks. Snow removal here is a joke. Everywhere we go we're shuffling over ice and slush. They need to salt steps and shovel streets! My parents said I should be used to it, and I am, but I can still hate it. I was told it wouldn't even snow here!

The road to our apartment is closed about every other day because it's on a steep, winding hill that no one would risk plowing. My friend said it well 2 nights ago: "I love how in Italy when they close off streets, people just move the signs and go ahead anyway." Which is really what happens, even though it leads to car accidents at the bottom of the hill a lot.

A few days ago we were greeted with a huge snow pile at the bottom of the stairs inside our apartment building. The open roof-thing I'm sure is nice in the summer, but is absurd in weather like this. Luckily, someone shoveled half of it away, but that left a frozen ice skating rink all the way to the door out. Check out attached pics. Please notice the icy marble steps that I'm so surprised I have not fallen on yet!

So here's to hoping the snow will melt. The weather says 53 on Saturday, but we will see. Ciao for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb