Day 28 in Europe - Florence, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
January 9th 2013
Published: January 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The Statue of DavidThe Statue of DavidThe Statue of David

You're nit allowed to take pictures of the Statue of David, but they didn't knoq that I was Chris Johhstone!
Italiano! Florence, Italy - Day 28 - Jan 9th 2013:

Holy Shnikeys! Italy has been developing into my favorite Country! Right when I didn't believe the last three days could be topped, Florence then comes. Wow. I'll start with the most eerily Awesome Hostel entrance.

So I find my way to the Hostel, and it is this long, 20 foot door that I have to buzz into. I walk in,and it is very deemly lit, qith the only light coming from a skylight from what seems like miles up. All there is is this spireling stairwell. And all of a sudden, I feel like I'm in the move Pan's Labyrenth and I here this faint voice say "Hello...." echo yhroughout the stairwell and have no ida where it's coming from, who is saying it or if it's directed towards me. Not being able to see very well,I decide to continue up the stair well, and hear the voice again, "Hello...." ever faintly echo through the darkneas. I pause, hear nothing for a few seconds, and continue ip the apiralling staircase, as this was the only direction to go. I hear it again, but louder, so I look up and see this skinny man standing about 5 flights above me and wavea to me to come ip, and there is absolutely no one else around. At this point, it is so weird I do't know what to do, as every Hostel I've been to has millions of people running arounf, making noise and outin the open. But the interestingly coolness and outstanding mystery of he setting keeps me going up. After about 6 or so flights of stairs, I meet this really friendly man named Yoklo or sonething, and invitrs me to sit down with him at this table. Usually there is a receptionist at a large counter at Hostels, so this was a bit different, but I loved the ddifferentness, and then he asks me if I have a reservation and I say no...

Well, before I drag this anymote into a mysterious short story, lo g story is that he's the owner of thos Hostel on Florence called Maison and it os really like a 7 story building that is really narrow and looks like spmebodies house converted onto a Hostel. The place is pretty cool and the guy is the Coolest person ever so I decide to stay. I found thos random place feom good reviews at HostelWorld.com.

Anyway,Bottom Line is Florence kicks ass, definitely come to Flourence. Today I went to see the greatest statue ever built, Michalanelo's Statue of David! This epic creation is about 20 feet tall and is absoalutely Increadible how this was carved out of Marble. It was actually prwtty empty in there, like most of the Sites I've been eto since it's the off season. There were mostly juat local italian Art students aitting around and Drawing David. Now how about that for a class, being able to walk down the street to sketch the Statue of David!!! I was able to snap a few photos of it without getting caught! Since ypu're not aloud to take phoyos. This was located in the Galleria Del Accademia, within a 1 minute walk from my Hpstel.

After that I made my way to Micheolangelo's house and it was closing, so I'll be baxk tomorrow to go in. I then made my way to thee most epic place for a view ever, abiut as good as Guell Park's in Barcelona. This was at the famous Piazzale Michelangelo! I had to take this great long and forrest staira to get up there and the view was triumphant, with a complete view of all of Florence, it was Amazing! I then walked around some xhurches thay was supwrvosolated and forresy, whichade it realky cool, and say another aweet view of the city. I walked around some parks, where there is a million swcret places to just sit and relax, and made my way tothe S. Spirato and the famous Pone Vicchip bridge and its Plazza. It was pretty epic. That'swhen I stumbled upon the literally Largest Buolding I've wver seen in tmy entire life!!! The Maria Del Fiore. Due it was intense.

Oh Yeah, I forgot about going to the Palazzo Pitti, a huge building with an epic inside with fou tains and stuff. I got a Baggette an some cream cheeae stuff for inder 2 Euro (the Bagette was like 3 feet long!) and ate on the Pitti's steps. Before I know it a Fashon model compitition is going on in the Pitti and I feel like a homeleas bum eating bread while all theae fancy people dressed in fancy clothes walj past me to get to the fashion showvinside the Pitti. I then go to the PalaO Vex hio which is what I was talking about earlier, and there is another or the same fashion show going on in there with a red carpet and Super Models everywhete. It was interesting to see cuz it was at this Epic place with uge buildings and statues.

I thwn made my way back to the Hostel, and have all fay tomorrow to roam around some more. Aside from the aweaome buildings, I relly liked the Parks, really cool plants and trails and cool places just to hangout. The followong day I will be checking out the leaning tower and Lucca!

Come to Italy!

-Chris

Highlights of the Day Include:

Statue of David, Michelangilo's House, Piazzale Michelangilo, S. Spirito, Piazza Dei Pitti, Po te Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, Maria Del Fiore Nd cool Parks


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The. Maria Dek FioreThe. Maria Dek Fiore
The. Maria Dek Fiore

Thee most Epically Laege building I've evwr seen. I actuallly gave up trying to walk around it!


12th January 2013

!What, no Beerfest?!!
Hi Chris,I really like these photos!
14th January 2013

Thanks, I'll put up better ones on Facebook when I can!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb