Day 29 in Europe - Florence, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 10th 2013
Published: January 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

View of FlorenceView of FlorenceView of Florence

From tjhe Michelangelo Plazza during the day
Day 29 in Europe - Florence, Tuscany, Italy - Jan 10th 2012:

It takes exactely 4 minutes and 27 seconds to cook a batch of McDonalds French Fries from start to Finish. From completly Frozen, to thawed, put into the boiling oil and then served to the Consumer.

I know this because Tyler knows this.

Or its because I had a cheap 2 Euro breakfast this morning since Im broke and I walked in before they had anything cooked yet. (Cheers if you got my Awesome Fight Club Quote!)

Since Ive seen pretty much everything I wanted to in Florence yesterday, today was a more slow paced day. I wanted to go to a couple places during the day today that I went to at night yesterday to get the full scale of Epics at both day and night. This included going to the house of Michelangelos Family and the S. Croce since it was closed yesterday. It was cool seeing a bunch of Michelangelos sculpures and paintings, it pretty much kicked ass. At his families house, I was literally the only person touring the whole time I was there, and got a one on one tour
View 2 of FlorenceView 2 of FlorenceView 2 of Florence

From the Michelangelo Plaza
with one of the workers there. As she followed me making sure I didnt take any pictures (I was able to though!) she would give me info on some of the paintings, and answered any questions I had, something I dont think anyone really gets ever, since I went in the off season, it was pretty cool! I also went to The Piazzale Michelangelo during the day today to get to experiance the Epic view of all of Florence at both Day and Night, something that everyone should do at some point. It was quite Amazing the view during the day, being able to see ever building and street that I couldnt at night.

After that, I decided to go to some Parks and cool relaxing areas, get away from the tourist attractions. It was cool walking around in the random areas of town, hearing the Italian "Itsa pizzza pie" type of accent. After going to a few kick ass places to just chill at a bench and enjoy some views of cool trees, the river and what not, having some snacks I bought at the local grocery store and just relaxing.

I then rememberd my Mom advised me to go to the Uffizi Gallary, the home to one of the largerst collections of Sculptures and Paintings, including that of Michelanelo, Raphael and Leonardo Divinchi. So I made the trek across Florence to the Uffizi and went into the Epic Gallery.

It was pretty sweet seeing work of Michelanelo, Raphael and Leonardo Divinchi all in one place. They were super strict with taking photos, with multiply people in each room waiting to kick someone out for taking photos, much more intense then all the other galleries Ive been too. But much like me sneaking a photo of the Statue of David, Chris Johnstone succeeded in getting a Photo of about 5 works of Raphael, but the only downside was that the picture was blurry, but I got it!

Much like Rome (Roma) I've walked a great deal in the 2 daya I've been here, over 12 hours a day without taking buses or taxis, just walking. I really got to know the ciy, and I got pretty good at navigating through the million tiny and narrow streets with my Map without getting lost! My sense of direction and independance is dwfinitely way better with this teip. There is no way I could do what I'm doing now a month ago. Holy Cow, I've been gone officially over 4 weeks, almost an entire month!

I will miss the Cool narrow roads and tall buildings and the Italian language, but I will be going on a day teip to Pisa and Lucco tomorrow and aee the leaning Tower of Pisa! I will then take a train back to Rome to fly to the Czech Repiblic to Prauge that night, and then get to Brno to hangout and stay with thw coolest dude ever Nick Bunzli for a week and a half! He's an Aweaone dude that I went to high school with that moved to Europe a few yeara ago and will be staying with him!

So Wow! Florence, Pisa, Lucco, Rome, Prague and Brno, all withing 24 Hours!!! Traveling Adventure time!

II will miss my strangaely Aweaome Hostel and quite possiblyy favorite Country Italy. But I' m pretty burnt out and am looking forward to taking it easy in the CEch Republic, unleas of coarse I decide not to!

I am Jack's complete lack of surprise by how Aweaome this Trip is
Brad PittBrad PittBrad Pitt

I have seen this add of Brad Pitt in every single country I've been to, so whenever I see one I take a picture for no reason at all! Lol.

-Tyler Durden Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Michelangelo's Family's HouseMichelangelo's Family's House
Michelangelo's Family's House

I was able to sneak a Picture inside the House as usual.
PooPoo
Poo

I've been taking pictures of poop everytime I see some, and I will create an Album Titled, "Poop from Around the World!" Lol. Example: Here is poop from Italy!
Raphael's most famous Paintings in the Uffizi GalleryRaphael's most famous Paintings in the Uffizi Gallery
Raphael's most famous Paintings in the Uffizi Gallery

Even with thee incredible security, I was able to take a quick but blurry picture of Raphael's most famous Paintings without getting caught!
the Money Wallthe Money Wall
the Money Wall

I don't know how or why, butt this wall had thousands of US Dollar Bills about 20 feet up this wall along the entire wall, somehow taped up there, it was pretty cool!
Super Narrow HallwaySuper Narrow Hallway
Super Narrow Hallway

Only about 2 feet wide!
Make Up!Make Up!
Make Up!

There was a lot of cool graffiti on the walls of Italy.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb