Chianti - Cooking Paradise


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
June 13th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Brolio CastleBrolio CastleBrolio Castle

You only get to walk the outside gardens, but still nice.
After Val left, I decided to spend a couple days in Chianti to see another part of the Tuscan hills. I found a hotel that was far too fancy and filled with couples planning or having their wedding, but for a couple days I think I can handle a little fancy pool lounging.

I also found out that there was a very famous Tuscan cooking school right by me and lucky for me they had an opening! Badia a Coltibuono - Established over 20 years ago by Lorenza de'Medici, the school is now run by her son, Guido Stucchi Prinetti. When I arrived at the site, I found out how lucky I really was as most of the group cancelled, leaving only three of us for a full day of cooking with Guido.

I was also lucky because my company couldn't have been better. Mica and Richard, the two other students, live half of the year in Tuscany and the other half in NY. We had so much fun preparing the food but even better, we got to eat everything we cooked paired with very yummy wines from their vineyard. We learned to make focaccia, gnocchi (I've been dying
Hotel in GaioleHotel in GaioleHotel in Gaiole

This was a nice getaway, but a little too fancy for me on the meals and every other guest was a couple planning their weddings or getting married right then. (not a lot of socializing with other guests for me.)
for the perfect recipe, now I have it!), potatoes, peas, zabaione (dessert) and rabbit! I'll have to admit I was a little nervous about Bugs, but it was really good and pretty much tastes like chicken. When I come home I'll have to test my skills out on some of you. :-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The ChefsThe Chefs
The Chefs

Our instructor Guido, Mica and Richard.
The Private CellarsThe Private Cellars
The Private Cellars

This was very cool!
Oldies but GoodiesOldies but Goodies
Oldies but Goodies

Yes, wine from 1937!
Cellars 2Cellars 2
Cellars 2

I just loved these barrels.
CowsCows
Cows

On the Badia a Coltobuono property.


26th June 2006

Sounds fun!
Oooh, cooking in Italy... what could be better?! Please bring home the gnocchi recipe for us - I've always wanted to know how to make it. :-) K
26th June 2006

Catching Up
C - Just catchinh up today on your blog. looks like you are having an amazing time. did u lose weight? u look skinny. if you get a chance to go to monaco. you should. you can take the ferry from italy. are you going to spain? if so let me know. one of friends is in sevilla for 2 months. continue to enjoy your travels.
26th June 2006

way to treat
yourself... Nothing wrong with a little fancy-schmancy here and there! I will volunteer to eat your italian cooking!
26th June 2006

yummm!
looks and sounds like you're having some amazing experiences and enjoying every second of them - good for you! you can try out your new gnocchi recipe on me anytime:) miss you and looking forward to a glass of wine or two upon your return! xoleslie
26th June 2006

YUMMY!
Sounds like the cooking school we did in venice--we cooked the same stuff too! This is such a great way to experience a culture by pairing our loves of food, wine and travel:-) I'm glad you found a good experience in the kitchen....aahhh....Italia.....
27th June 2006

yay!
Hi Christy, Kenji here... just checking in and marveling at your wonderful journey, photos, and journal. Thanks for the updates, and travel safe! -Kenji
27th June 2006

Ciao Bella!
Christy, you are blowing my mind! This is such a fabuloso journey you are on and ain't it great to just let things happen accidentally... like the cooking school. Wow! You better make those little dumplings for us! I will bring the vino del blasto. If you can, go to San G. and Sienna. But do get lost along the way. There's bound to be a story when you do. Buono Fortuna! - Buzzarino
27th June 2006

CHRISTY; EVERYTIME I SEE YUR PICTURES I END UP FEELING LONESOME FOR YOU. CAN'T AIT FOR IYU TO COME HOME LOVE DAD
28th June 2006

WINE IN ITALY!~
Yummmm....Those barrels look like an intersting site and that 19437 bottle of wine???! WOW! You're truly one lucky lady:)
29th June 2006

Good Times
Sounds like you are really enjoying your time in Europe. Thanks for all of the great information! Looking forward to more stories of your trip!
29th June 2006

Molto Bene!
I'm having so much fun traveling with you, virtually. My kitchen and I are ready for you to prepare a Foley feast when you get home!
1st July 2006

Wow!
Christy, these are great and sounds like an amazing time. What a great experience: cooking, wine (great wine!), beautiful hotel and grounds. All your travels seem like one great experience after another. Something you will carry with you always. Looking forward to hear and see your next adventure! ~ gina

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb