#19--Paradise Found


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
July 25th 2007
Published: July 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

7/22/07 to 7/25/07
A train strike made for a miserable day of travel, but perhaps made the reward all that much sweeter. I am now in Cinque Terra and am ready to quit life as I know it and move here. I have found paradise. It's as if the best parts of Catalina, South Beach, Capri and Laguna Beach were melted together and placed on the western coast of Italy. I am so in love with the area that I sacrificed my trip to Venice (one of my favorite cities), to extend my stay in Cinque Terra.

I neither know (nor do I care) about the history, but am enamored by the charm of the five towns that make up this mediterranean paradise. Each town is linked by a narrow mountain path--sometimes only two-feet wide, and involving at least a one to two-hour hike between destinations. For practicality's sake (or if overcome from exertion), there are also train stops connecting each fishing village.

I won't lie, a couple of times the hikes were darn-near exhausting...but SO worth it.

Sometimes, the views overlooked the ocean, with waves crashing against the cliffs; the next and last towns peaking through the crags. Other times, it was up and down stoney mountain steps, past wild berries and private vineyards, while little lizards and butterflies darted from bush to bush. Each town presented a new photograph. I found myself dripping sweat, fighting the heat, breathless and loving every moment. The best prize was always the welcoming beach in the harbor of each town.

Twice I ventured these trails by myself, a labor of love filled with perfection and torment.Heaven was being able to savor it in my own way--the uninterrupted sights and sounds of nature.Hell was the lonliness of not being able to share it with the connections of my heart.

I have shed many tears here in Cinque Terra--most of joy and some of longing. I do not know where the two part or come together, only that I am okay with both, and I find myself standing in the middle holding hands with all of it.

Whoa...That was deep.
No more journal writing after a few Birras. LOL

7/23/07
Happiness is swimming naked in the blueness of the Mediterranean Sea.

7/24/07
Today, I hopped on a train to somewhere, but going nowhere imparticular. A lost somebody asked me for directions which presented me with a peculiar conundrum:How could I help them figure out where they were going when I didn't know (or care) where I was going? At first I just shrugged...But they persisted. That's when I busted out with my best Helen Keller impression, darn near convincing myself that my invented sign language actually meant something. I know,I know.Tastless...Selfish...But effective.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb