Better to be sick in Italy than not in Italy at all


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
February 22nd 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

CarnevaleCarnevaleCarnevale

Canevale in Venice
This Italy trip has been so amazing! I can't believe that there are only two nights left! The whole thing is so unreal.

We went to Venice on Sunday and arrived around noon. It was pretty overcast, but I like when the weather is like that. Right when we got off of the train we saw people walking around in masks and costumes. It was so exciting and fun! It was the last day of Carnevale, so everyone was either in full costume or had a mask on. Allie and I checked into our hostel (which was very interesting…) and then went out to explore the city. I wanted to get my face painted but I had a bad cough so I thought it was best not to. We ate at a restaurant on the canal and looking at the Rialto bridge. Then we made our way to St. Marks square to see all the festivities. There were lots of elaborate costumes and there was a huge stage where people were doing stunts. We then rested in a cute little cafe and ate dessert. That night we just ate across the street from our hostel, but we did lots of
St. Marks SquareSt. Marks SquareSt. Marks Square

St. Mark's Square during Carnevale in Venice
exploring during the day. We got so lost that I'm sure that I have seen most of Venice. In every square you went into there were different festivities from ice skating to blow up floats. It was so unreal!

On Monday we got up early and got on a train to Florence. I was so excited to be back there! Our hostel was so great, it was just like a hotel! We got our own bathroom and private room. It was in a great location and super clean. First, Allie and I went and explored the Duomo and went inside. Then we went to the Ponte Veccio bridge and explored that area. Then, I had a journal I had bought when I was there 2 years ago that I wanted another of. We looked for a while for the shop and on the way met these really nice people in another journal shop. The woman was from the US and had married an italian man, whose cousin owned the shop. They gave us wine and cough drops and told us some great places to go! It also turned out that my shop was just around the corner, so I
FlorenceFlorenceFlorence

The Duomo in Florence
got my journal! After that Allie and I hung out at the hostel and then went out for dinner. We went to a great place right by our hostel and had pizza and wine and talked for a while. Then we went to sleep.

The next morning I was feeling a lot worse than I had the previous days. I decided to let Allie go on to Siena (because she had a friend we were going to stay with there) and I stayed in Florence. I rested in the hostel for a while and then tried to walk around a bit. I got gelato and had some tea but I was not feeling too great while I was exploring. Mom found a British doctor who I went to see and he gave me some medicine that will hopefully make me better by the time I go home! For the rest of the day I just rested and then got some pizza to go. I went to sleep very early

Today I got up and took the train to Siena to meet Allie and her friend. We ate overlooking the Piazza, and it was a gorgeous day so we
SienaSienaSiena

View of Siena from the park
got some sun in too! We then ate these really delicious rice balls that had come to Siena for Carnevale. After I found a hostel to stay at (so i wouldn't wake anyone up with my coughing all night), Allie's friend showed us around the city. We saw the Piazza, the Duomo, and lots of beautiful buildings. We then walked up to a park that overlooked the city and sat for a while. There was a football game going on so it was fun to listen to the fans. Then I headed back to my hostel where I am now! I'm going to go to bed early tonight so hopefully I will be up for exploring Naples and be ready for my flight on Friday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

SienaSiena
Siena

Our view of the Piazza during lunch!


22nd February 2012

Sorry you are sick!
Sounds like you were a trooper even though sick. I got sick in Istambul when I was backpacking and missed all of Budapest while in bed. Drink lots of green tea, take zinc and Vitamin C. Have a fun time in Naples! I love the pics on Facebook! Jennifer
23rd February 2012

Hope u r better
Sounds like you are a real trooper and well traveled to handle everything so well even though not 100%. Hope you are much improved quick and fully enjoy rest of trip! Thinking of you and sending hugs!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb