Florence....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 13th 2017
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I know I'm behind. But that's a good thing. It means we are having a lot of fun and are little busy.

Florence....

Wow. I slept sooo good last night. Up early so we could catch the 2 hour 7:00am train from Venice to Florence. It was actually pretty easy. But I think that's because Kelly was in charge.

The train is one of the fast!! trains. 150-160 kmh at its fastest. We sat 2 next to each other facing the other 2 next to each other with a table between us next to a huge window. The ride went very fast and next thing we knew We Are in Florence.

Gelato. Mmm mmm good. We are really enjoying the Gelato. Everywhere and sometimes twice a day.

I loved Florence. Such a vibrant and pretty city. First thing we did was go to the Accademia museum and saw David. It was a 1 hour guided tour and I was impressed. The guide was knowledgeable and funny. After he did his thing, we able to walk around and see David from all sides in all his glory. And words can't express it... Just WOW!!!

Then we walked to the Duomo and tried to get in, but sold out. Kelly is so disappointed but since I don't know what I'm missing, I'm good. The outside is amazing.

At the Piazza Del Republicca...I saw a Carousel and of course I'm riding it. I love carousels. Thanks Suzy for riding with me. The lunch at an out door restaurant. Very good food. And the views while we were eating....Yup
pretty damn good.

Gorgeous bridge...super neat. Great shopping and great scenery.

We then headed to the summer home of the Medici which is the Pitti Palace. We walked the gardens and then the museum. Gardens were amazing. But dang those were some steep hills. But Kelly and I did it. The museum...not my thing but museums were never my thing.

Florence. Again WOW!!! The buildings. The carousel. The Gelato. The gardens. But most of all...The best ever travel buddies.

And then the train ride back....First it was 5 minutes late. And then 10. We get on train and find out seats. Kelly had to argue with some young chick she was in our seats. After a few minutes she moved. Kelly rocks. We settle in and the train starts to move and then 4 or so minutes later it stops. Goes a short distance and stops. And this goes on until the train is running 1.5 hours late. We are tired and hungry. We start going through our bags looking for food. We inhale what food we find. Then the train personnel bring packs of chocolate cookies and bottled water since we are running so late. We were so slap happy at this time. ?

We end our day in Florence with more pasta at a restaurant right on the Grand Canal (we got there right as they were closing and they still fed us.



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



17th June 2017

Fun!
Sounds like so much fun!
17th June 2017

David
Really glad everyone having a good time.Sounds like the adventure of a lifetime. PS I've seen David,he's a grey haired GRUMPY old man.Not WOW

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb