Honeymoon Day 5 (Rome/Florence)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 19th 2014
Published: October 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Rome, I must say, you treated Katie and I very well. We enjoyed everything you had to offer very much. However, every good thing comes to an end. Today Katie and I left Rome and headed to Florence.We purchased our train ticket yesterday for 11:30am. However, anytime I have a flight or a train to catch, I have a internal need to get there early. I can't stand the risk of missing a flight, a plane, or a regular appointment. I don't know why, but it bothers me quite a bit to be late. Katie and I showed up to Roma Termini about 45 minutes early. We got a quick snack and waited for the train.

At about 11:20am, the big board finally showed us what platform we were on. So we got on our train. The ride was about an 1 hour or 1hour and a half. Not bad at all. We played cards and Katie took a quick nap. Meanwhile, I admired the views of the Italian country side. Once we got to Florence we headed to our Hotel, checked in, dropped our bags off, took a little break, and then headed out to explore the city.

We went to the piazza where the Palazzo Vecchio is. From the last time I was in Italy, I remember that Florence had the best gelato. I also remember reading that in the guide book. We had some gelato, and then went to the Uffizi Gallery. It was fun, but after being at the Vatican, the Uffizi was just overmatched when it came to sculptures. However, there was some pretty famous pieces of artwork that we enjoyed seeing. After the Uffizi Gallery, we headed over to the Ponte Vecchio for some people watching. I planned on taking Katie to Piazza Michaelangelo for a picnic with food & wine, but her feet were hurting by this point. I also didn't feel like doing the 30 minute hike. We decided to just hang out and explore random streets in Florence. After a while, we went back to the room, listened to music, and called it a night. Tomorrow would be our busy day in Florence.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb