Foodies in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 11th 2013
Published: August 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm back on the 'road'.

The infrequency of my travel posts will reveal just how little I have travelled in recent weeks, months, years. So little in fact that when I sought to book a date off work in order to spend an indulgent weekend in Italy I realised that it had been over a year since my last vacation. Oh dear.

A weekend in the beautiful Tuscan city of Florence was a 'gift to self' in so many ways. It reignited a sense of adventure, a taste for passion and a liberation of spirit. Yes, Florence did that for me; because standing alone at a scorching hot train station listening to platform changes in a foreign language or talking to strangers or gazing at surroundings with the magic and wonder of childlike innocence will do that to you. I remembered why travel is so tantalising, and so, so very necessary.

Of course the journey was as much an epicurean one as a personal one. I will unashamedly share in this space that I visited the beautiful city of Florence and saw not a single museum, learned not any historical fact, marvelled at none of the great buildings, nor admired any of the art galleries. Even Michaelangelo’s David went amiss. Instead, Emma and I went on a culinary pilgrimage to find the city’s finest gelato (we happened to stumble upon the Duomo en route) (oh, and it’s toasted black sesame at Vivoli’s in case you’re wondering), to indulge in the most mouth watering pizza, to practically pray to the food gods for the divine taste of fresh porcini, to taste tiramisu and sweet creamy pastries, to frequent the food markets and to carry as much balsamic vinegar and olive oil home as is possible in economy class hand luggage. This for me is Italy, this is the beauty of being passionate, this is art of falling in love. For in Italy, food and love are synonymous.You can read more about my food frolics at my food blog www.dinnershewrote.com

I promise not to leave such a long gap between travel ventures again....


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb