Florence day 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 5th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I desided to give Florence another try and instead of going to Volterra I stayed in Florence on Sunday and walked around. The thing about Florence is that you have got to be willing to get lost because it the only way to fined something really cool in the city. Sound weired? It did to me too until I got to talking to other people in the hostel and found out that it was not just me. The signs really are incorrect but thats OK. Its really not that bad when you have all the time in the world and dont hve an 80lb pack on youre back and as an added bounce going out in the morning is great because they wash the streets every morning (It only starts to smell by high noon). Besides you never really get lost because when you want to know where you are you just head toward what ever structure is in your sky field. From there you can orientate yourself. If you stay in the downtonw core chances are good that the structure will be the Duomo which is huge! (If I can I will up load the video)

Getting lost and finding something new then sharing and trying to figure out where it was at has become a favourit past time for a group of us who speand our evenings cooling off on the terrance at the hostel in the evenings. My best find was the Jewish synagoge and communitywhich gave the history of what happened in Italy during WWII. This one chick totally beat me. She found a serial killer museum.

When I first left for this trip I was not sure how much I would enjoy traveling by myself but it has be nice because it has forced me to be more social then I normally would be and I have met a lot of interesting people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb