First day in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 4th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My first impressions of Forence have not been good. I was warned that in Italy it was organized chaous and it is but some how it always works out. For example, there are very few traffic light and no four way stops so cars people just go when they find an opening and it seems to work at lest it did in Turin. In Forence there is very little street signs and the map that the tourist office made me paid 1 euro for was crappy. I walked around in a big circle with a hugh pack on my back in 37 C heat before I finally got on the right street that lead to my hostel. By the time I got here I was soaked in sweat and pissed that I couldnt shower or go to my room because that have black out times in effect. At least they let my change inthe bathroom and hang in the dinningroom until i could go to my room instead of making me go out in that heat again. In addition to the pour signage the streets smell like piss so bad i dont know how people can stand it. I really hope it gets better.



Advertisement



8th July 2009

Is Italy just filthly?
Hi, I read your comment about the streets of Florence smelling like "piss". I am planning a trip to the very northern part, Porlezza....have you been there, and is it cleaner? Hope your trip does better.
9th July 2009

Re Is Italy just filthy
Hi Bobbi, I dont think its all of Italy because Ive been to other parts which were fine. I think it is just the big tourist cities because I was warned that Venice was the same way. I have not been to Poriezza but I was in Turin and it was very nice there. Good luck and have fun.

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb