Democrats Abroad- Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
November 4th 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Back seatsBack seatsBack seats

On the bus to the venue,
So the night of the election, Molly, Daisy, Zoe, Emma, and I all went to the party that was being thrown just outside the city center in a large convention arena. We took the free shuttle since it was way too far to walk. At first I had heard that it was going to be at a small bar, so we all bought a beer for the road, knowing that it was going to be a long night. It turned out to be a huge (by Florence standards) building, which did include a bar, but also had free food and wine as well as booths showcasing different groups around Florence. One of the groups was actually promoting the Florence American Football league, still american football is still not considered a sport here in Europe it was interesting to talk to some of the players. As soon as I saw the sign for their booth I absolutely had to meet the team, not that my Italian is very good, but I was able to say how much I love Football (I think they understood me!). I even purchased a t-shirt supporting our new President, Obama. The party lasted until 4am Florence time, I wish we had better feedback on how the candidates were doing in the polls, but the studip time difference made it pretty much impossible. However I stayed until 1:30am and supported the cause by drinking free wine and eating free chicken McNuggets while listening to live music from the comfort of my blow-up couch.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Headbands and ObamaHeadbands and Obama
Headbands and Obama

Molly was super excited to go.
American pride.American pride.
American pride.

Showing our support with homemade t-shirts. Got to love American Apparel.
Group shotGroup shot
Group shot

All the Santa Reparata kids supporting Obama.
Happy meals.Happy meals.
Happy meals.

Enjoying the free Mickey D's.
Free things make me happy.Free things make me happy.
Free things make me happy.

Enjoying the free Red Bull and wine.


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb