Holiday Travels, TN, NC, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Abbott famThe Abbott famThe Abbott fam

My mother, her parents, and my brother and I.
Happy New Years everybody!!!
Hope you all had happy holidays, safe travels, and excellent new years celebrating! I had a splendid journey down to Tennessee to see alot of the family! The foothills of the Smokey Mountains was lovely as usual, and I thoroughly enjoyed the q.t. with the fam! Then I shot across North Carolina to visit my old stomping grounds on the Outer Banks and my friends there. I got to see Ali and Ryan's new baby girl, Chloe when she was only a week old, she's beautiful! Plus go kayaking with Brain and Jon, and iceskating with Monica, Brain, Alicia and her new hubby! Hahaha, congrats! My knee is STILL sore from taking an overconfident turn and busting my ass!
Then an exhausting trip up the coast and a long series of flights to Florence, Italy! Just in time to bring in the new year right!!! Italy is amazing. I've never visited such history and culture. The feeling you get walking through piazzas with 500 year old sculptures, museums with the same aged paintings and frescos, olive groves and vineyards in the country that have been tended for hundreds of years, waking up, looking out the
At Dad and Debs!At Dad and Debs!At Dad and Debs!

Dad, Deb, John, Steven, Charlene, and myself
window and a castle on the next hill fills your view.... a culture of people who get offended by people overplanning, overworking, over-following the rules, as opposed to pushing those restricting ways of life on its people.... I can't rave about Italy enough! And then as if I wasn't overwhelmed enough by Florence, a day in Rome was breathtaking! Seeing the Coliseum and walking under arches and around ruins from the Roman Empire and before! Crazy!
Surprisingly, I was actually ready to come home though! I might complain about the cold weather, but I do love my family up in New York and enjoy all the friendly people that I meet!
This trip was really good for me, I didn't use the phone or email at all (sorry mom and dad!), and spent alot of time in the country walking around or sitting by the fire or in town enjoying that particularly grand Florence feeling, or visiting with Ben's wonderful friends (most of them artists) and many of them Americans that went to Italy and never left! This trip rekindled a search involving my mind and soul, and allowed me to take a step back from my life
Currituck IceskatingCurrituck IceskatingCurrituck Iceskating

Monica, Alecia, and me
and look at it from the outside, because I feel as though I left my life at the airport and took a vacation from myself. There are some changes to be made always, but I'm feeling refreshed and positive.
I hope all of you are well and love you all so much!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The CreefsThe Creefs
The Creefs

Ali, Ryan, and Chloe... Collin's jumping around the house somewheres!
FlorenceFlorence
Florence

View from Piazzale Michelangelo.
Giardino di BoboliGiardino di Boboli
Giardino di Boboli

Boboli Gardens
Country houseCountry house
Country house

So amazing! Close to Tavarnelle (about halfway between Florence and Siena).
Morning viewMorning view
Morning view

The castle I awoke to everymorning in the country.
Duomo in the DistanceDuomo in the Distance
Duomo in the Distance

One of many rainy days in Florence.
Toy Cars!!!Toy Cars!!!
Toy Cars!!!

Gotta love the European three wheelers!
Ponte VecchioPonte Vecchio
Ponte Vecchio

'the old bridge'
Piazza della SignoriaPiazza della Signoria
Piazza della Signoria

Where I went for New Year's!! Fireworks, cheering, and bottle breaking!
Perseus with the head of MedusaPerseus with the head of Medusa
Perseus with the head of Medusa

Benvenuto Cellini's statue in The Loggia dei Lanzi gallery on the edge of the Piazza della Signoria.
Fontana di TreviFontana di Trevi
Fontana di Trevi

Me and my new Peruvian friend, Cesar!
Citta del VaticanoCitta del Vaticano
Citta del Vaticano

In Piazza San Pietro, notice the huge Christmas tree and the life size nativity!


12th January 2008

beautiful places, beautiful faces..shannon, you're a beautiful woman! glad you're still searching, growing, and loving this life to the fullest. AND I can't wait to talk to you soon, now that you're back home safely. love, sarah
13th January 2008

Wow
Wow Shannon, I guess you are living the life you've imagined for yourself! Way to go. Wish you would've gotten up with me for the holidays, but maybe next time! One love Sarah

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb