Istanbul


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Bibbiena
March 13th 2014
Published: March 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Off the coast of Sochi, Russia and at port in Istanbul, Turkey



The Mt Whitney was deployed off the coast of Sochi during the 2014 Winter Olympics to aid the Americans if there were any terrorist activities. We could see the Olympic flame in the big binos (big eyes) on the deck. We basically floated off the coast for two weeks. There were always Russian ships between us and the shore. We floated peacefully around together and then we left and headed for Istanbul. Istanbul is one of my favorite places. I would go back there on a vacation. Very clean and safe. Great architecture and friendly people. Many of the Turks speak English. I was able to tour the Blue Mosque but Hagia Sophia was closed. I spent a little time in the Bazaar but shopping is not my favorite thing. There are some good deals and the exchange rate is very good. There is a mini bazaar and a huge bazaar. The pictures I have are of the smaller spice bazaar. The city is filled with lots of good restaurants and coffee shops loaded with baklava and Turkish coffee. They have an apple tea that is really good also. I opted out on the Turkish baths. You sweat in a steam room and in a big hot tub and then lay on a stone slab and a big hairy man pounds on you for about a half hour. Some people did it but did not sound like fun to me.



Now we are back in Gaeta and I am waiting for a relief so I can go back to the states. I am about a week overdue. The weather is very nice here and it is freezing in Va. so sunny Italy is not a bad place to spend a few more days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb