Oh so lo meeeeooooo.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
July 25th 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Venice TrafficVenice TrafficVenice Traffic

Could really use a signal here.
Well I finally made it to Venice, or Venezia, as the locals call it. Was really upset with myself that I didn't get to visit this famous city last time I was in Italy. But now I have made it and I think I can forgive myself. Venice just happens to be one of the most expensive places in Europe. COOL. I didn't want my money anyway. Actually though, it wasn't that bad. Found a campsite outside of the city that was pretty cheap. Very nice too. The only down side was catching two buses into Venice or a water taxi. Did both on different days.

And let me tell you, Venice is crazy. Not because it is a group of over 117 connected islands. Sure, that's interesting. And Im sure it has been invaded many times throughout its history. That is the only explanation for the labrynth of streets that criss-cross the entire place. Not to mention that all the buildings look so much alike and streets that end in a canal. I like to think that I have pretty good map skills and a decent sense of direction. I mean I can read topigraphical maps, triangulate positioning, understand
Campsite BarCampsite BarCampsite Bar

I love camping.
co-ordinates(lattitude and longitude), have traveled around on four different continents, can guess the time usually within an hour in over 5 different time zones. But for the life of me, I could not get from one place to another in Venice. I could find where we were on the map and where I wanted to get to. But actually getting there, was another thing. On more than one occassion I started off in a direction I believed to be correct only to walk for about 30 minutes and end up right back in the same piazza I started in. Very frustrating. But it also allowed for discovering lots of different types of areas all over the city, again and again. Just plain crazy. So if you are thinking of going, forget the map. Just wander, get lost, and ask directions. It's unavoidable. But at least if you dont have the map, maybe you wont get as frustrated as me. Made for some interesting days though.

And wouldn't you know it. They had a fireworks show the night we arrived. Not sure what the occassion was, but I didn't care. And I am being completely honest, when I say that
SuperfiendsSuperfiendsSuperfiends

Time to change into superheros and avoid getting lost. Ya right.
it was, by far, the best display of fireworks that I have ever seen. It seemed to go on forever and the finale just would not end. Got some great photos and some of the end on tape for the DVD.

Like every other place, didn't stay there for long. Got my move on and skipped over to Milan. Not a big fan of Milan, but I did have a good time there. Besides, you can't go to Italy and not visit the fashion capital. So I did my best to sport my backpacker gear and shades to try and look fashionable. Not sure if I pulled it off though. You can decide from the pictures. But remember that I only have 3 pairs of shorts and about 5 shirts. Everyday is laundry day when Im on the road. Not sure what else to say about Milan. It was hot, but it's summer in Italy. You have to expect that.

Enjoy the photos. New stats are in the works and you wont believe where I go next. One of the most foriegn places that I have ever been. Till next time kiddies.

Euroguz


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

church church
church

if you want to get to church you better have a boat.
Venice StreetsVenice Streets
Venice Streets

This could be any street here. Mostly cause I don't know where I am.
CanalsCanals
Canals

Lots of bridges, canals, and dirty water.
Carnival MasksCarnival Masks
Carnival Masks

For those times when you just dont want to be you.
Jeager and Tic-tacsJeager and Tic-tacs
Jeager and Tic-tacs

Why didn't I think of that.
More fireworksMore fireworks
More fireworks

Oh, you shouldn't have.
EurolookEurolook
Eurolook

If you want to dress european, just put on something tight and accessorize with a scooter. Done.
Milano DuomoMilano Duomo
Milano Duomo

This is just the roof. Impressive huh.
Ronald McDonaldRonald McDonald
Ronald McDonald

I dont think Ronald is hungry right now.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Not even the sun setting slows down the sightseeing. Keep mov'n.


4th August 2006

Venice
Was wating for that blogg, thanks Venice was probably my favourite place. Id like to go back and wander the streets for a few more days. Id only go back to Milan for that chocolate gelati

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.3kb