Milano and Lago Como


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We have arrived in Italy - finally!!!! I think as soon as we got here we both looked at each other and said "yeah, this is what we've been waiting for". Milan is a great cosmopolitan city with good food and an OTT Duomo - check out my photos on http://www.flickr.com/photos/violettesaunty/ soon for what I'm talking about.

They say that Milan is up there in the fashion stakes with Paris. People, let me tell you.... Out in the suburbs that's not the way we roll! The Milanese, beautiful as they are, are no fashion match for the Parisian in my books. There was not a single badly dressed person, besides me, in Paris and the same can not be said for Milan. Mind you, all the dags here could very well be tourists too.

Today we did a trip out to Lake Como. It lived up to the reputation that everyone else gives it as a picturesque place not to be missed. Shell had a date with George Clooney as he lives in the area. I was going to baby sit his pet pig and was really looking forward to it. Alas, George stood us up so I didn't get any piggy time 😞

Oh! I forgot about my public transport issue with Milan! When we got here our awesome lady, Peirra, had a map of the trains and the metro for us. All we had to do was walk across the road to the station. What we didn't know was that Milan has.... wait for it.... a metro, a subway, a tram, a bus and a train system. The metro and the subway both have "S" symbols to denote them but they don't interconnect and have completely different maps but use the same colour systems. The trams use the "M" symbol just to confuse me further. The trains are shown on all maps in black which is great but no one has a bus map or timetable any where. So I'm looking at the metro map while on the subway and wondering why I'm going in the wrong direction on the green line but all lines are going the same way and it's all turning around in my head. (obviously my life is very difficult these days as it consists of picking the most appropriate shoes for the day's activities and finding my way into the centre of town on the local transportation)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb