Good Day in Venice, Bad Day in Milan


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
November 14th 2008
Published: November 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I left yesterday morning for Venice with my friend Rachael. Venice is beautiful! However, it was pouring rain when we arrived, and since we are spending today in Milan, I wore my nice peacoat because I wanted to look fashionable. I have never missed my North Face more.

We spent the night in Venice at what we thought was a hostel. But it is this great apartment for the two of us, with three other aparments in the same hallway. The only weird thing about it though, is that you need 5 keys. One to get through the gate, one to get past the first door to the elevator, another for the door of the hallway, a fourth for the door to our specific room and finally one for the bathroom. So obviously, we are well protected from strangers! We also have a balcony that looks over a courtyard and are so close to the main canal!

We left for Milan early early early this morning and are disappointed. We expected to find streets full of designer shops, up-and-coming artists, small merchants and such. It took us over a very confusing hour to find our hostel because the website directions were awful and we know ZERO Italian which I thought wouldn't make a difference, but hardly anyone speaks English and those who do, are upset that they have to. I keep saying thank you, excuse me and goodbye in Spanish and I don't even know why!

We have asked everyone if there is a better shopping district than the one we are in now and everyone says this is the best area. I have spent 20 euro so far. That's lunch, coffee and a Diet Coke from McDonalds. I was all prepared to slurged.

So Rachael and I are going to try really hard to find a good place to eat tonight and than head back to Venice asap tomorrow morning. I'll have many more stories to write about later (cross your fingers). Venice is all ready impressive so I know it will be a much better day tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb