Sunbathing in the Italian Riviera


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Levanto
June 9th 2012
Published: June 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm over in the west coast of Italy now, in levanto, a town that is part if the Cinque Terre. It's a cluster of five islands along the coast, all within walking distance of each other (when the flooding isn't an issue of course). Staying here is fairly cheap, with a four night stay in a hostel that's only two minutes from the beach, costing me under a hundred bucks, so I'm happy.

This place is fairly new to the tourist track and as such there haven't been even a tenth of the street vendors that Venice had. This is a real town where travellers are guests, not the main consumers, at least that's my perception.

The beach is beautiful. I always gravitate towards gravel and rocky beaches just so I can see what sort of critters are swimming around. After a very, very awesome faceplant directly into the salty ocean I was happy to find anemones, sea cucumbers, and oth cool stuff. While on my way to the public (read free)beaches I noticed several women were topless and that it totally wasn't a big deal at all, so I figured what the hell! So yes, my boobs have seen the Italian sky! Do you have any idea how freeing it is, how good it feels to sit on a beach without body issues keeping you covered? I feel like in the states we as a culture demand perfection anf hold ourselves to a crazy standard, whereas here, the beach is there to be enjoyed, go enjoy it! I actually laid, out in my swimsuit and I felt amazing. Coming from me, you know that's saying something.

Advertisement



9th June 2012

Villages, not islands!
My brain is useless today.
9th June 2012

ahhh!
Ah how I wish I was there!! I can't wait to see all your pictures!
9th June 2012

I have a ton of ...
pics! I will definitely share when I get back!

Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb