Cinque Terre (chinkwah terrah), and anchovie love


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Cinque Terre
June 10th 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I visited the village of Monterosso, a quick train ride of about five or so minutes south. There is a hiking path between all of the villages,but with the expectation of a good rain today, I decided to pay the five bucks for the trip. Monterosso is similar to Levanto, though the view to the ocean and the artificial bay add a whole new dimension, or distinction from this community. Monterosso and the neighboring villages were slammed by massive waves last year, with businesses and families close to the water experiencing heavy property damages. They are still rebuilding from the damage and a couple if the hiking trails are disconnected due to that damage.

Anchovies are a prize here in the community, and have that protected origin designation. You cannot sell an anchovie with the Monterosso name unless it in fact comes from here, imitations are illegal ( champagne makers struggle to educate people that real champagne comes from champagne, imitations are not in fact, champagne because they are made elsewhere). Anyway, anchovies were great as well as the gelato.

Also, while visiting I was able to see the creation of these beautiful images being created on the ground with the use of gravel, flowers and sawdust. I believe they were creating them for the Catholic holiday of Corpus Christi. Beautiful images of faith, but now it is raining hard! So apparently must create these with a fatalistic air about your actions. Get your prayers in, share your faith and then await the destruction of your earthly creation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th June 2012
UploadedFile2

Anchovy!
Ugh! Frick in iPad!
11th June 2012

Thanks for the trip...
I'm so enjoying your blogs and FB posts. Thanks for sharing your adventure with us. You are my hero!
11th June 2012

Im glad you like them!
I've been on the road now for a month, it's hard to believe all of this has actually happened and I still have more to do! Love, a
11th June 2012

Enjoying Italy
Hi Amber, Thanks so much for including me on your travels - I am so enjoying my virtual vacation! I think I would have to pass on your anchovie dish though, although it is a beautiful presentation. Happy travels! LQ

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb