Last Installment of Cinque Terre


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Cinque Terre
October 25th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Rio Maggiore By NightRio Maggiore By NightRio Maggiore By Night

Do you see the light at the very top? that is the church I attempted to climb to.
Sorry this is so behind! But I actually have been busy, promise! This will be my last entry for the Cinque Terre weekend that was the first weekend of October. My last day, Sunday, I decided to get up early and hike to the top of the mountain where Rio Maggiore was. I had been looking up at it all weekend and had been looking up at a church on the top of the hill. I kept thinking how awesome the view would be from up there and that it would be good to look back and think "wow, I climbed to the top!" so I woke up and checked out of the hostel at about 8 am, unfortunately the office wasn't open, so I had to take my pack with me. I found the beginning of the trail at the base of a very tall set of stairs and began to climb. It was difficult as I wasn't exactly dressed for an intense hike because I was supposed to catch the train home later in the morning. So imagine someone hiking up a never ending set of stairs in jeans, a fleece, and a backpack that probably weighed 20 pounds;
Rio Maggiore By DayRio Maggiore By DayRio Maggiore By Day

View from the Beginning of Sunday's hike
yeah that was me. Not the best idea ever i must admit. THe view only kept getting better the higher i climbed so I continued, and there was an older lady ahead of me carrying grocery bags up the stairs in front of me, so there was no way i was going to give up before her! 😊 I climbed stairs through vinyards until I reached the main road, here I went the wrong direction and had to turn around because the trail was not clearly marked. I was about 1/2 way up the hill, so I stopped to take some pictures and a break from stairs. THe next part of the path followed the road and then started up another set of stairs, this path was far more narrow and was not that clear, so it made for tough going at parts. I reached a point about 3/4 of the way up to the top of the mountain where I thought it was the top and was really excited, but then I turned and realized I still had quite a ways to go. Here is where I am sad to say I gave up. If you can imagine the
Rio MaggioreRio MaggioreRio Maggiore

this is just a bit further up the moutain
most dejected look anyone could ever have--that's what I probably looked like, but I was tired and still had to hike down the mountain and catch a train back to Perugia. I had to turn back to the main road and instead of climbing back down the stairs I just followed the road back into town. THe hike from the previous day had worn out my legs, so I figured I would probably just fall down the stairs, not make it safely down--if anyone knows my history with stairs, they would quite agree. there were moments where I seriously contemplated hitchhiking, but I did make it safely back to Rio Maggiore to catch the train to the next station with some girls that were staying in my hostel. We had to part ways in La Spezia, but I continued on to Perugia and made it home later that day. That was about all I did on the last day. The train ride was long and had too many connections, but what can you do?




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

CemetaryCemetary
Cemetary

The Cemetary is out of the town and you pass it on the hike up the Mountain
Vinyards!Vinyards!
Vinyards!

Vinyards cover the moutains...Look how high up I am!
Me and Cinque TerreMe and Cinque Terre
Me and Cinque Terre

from this point I could see little bits of all the five towns!
Climbing DownClimbing Down
Climbing Down

Here I am after I failed, but have reached RioMaggiore...sorry no pictures of the actual realization of failure :(
Lost?Lost?
Lost?

Not really sure which train to take! Ahh so confusing!


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb