Monterosso, Italy (Cinque Terre)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Cinque Terre » Monterosso al Mare
September 22nd 2019
Published: June 13th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Milan, Italy to Monterosso, Italy


I left Milan with all the excitement of going to Cinque Terre. I was here several years ago, and I have wanted to come back for so long. A little history... The Cinque Terre (meaning five lands) is a coastal area within Liguria, in the northwest of Italy. It is comprised of five villages: Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore. The coastline, the five villages, and the surrounding hillsides are all part of the Cinque Terre National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Access to Cinque Terre by car is limited. A road to Vernazza is very narrow and ends 1 kilometer (0.62 mi) before the town. Alternatively, you can drive to Bonassola, park your vehicle there, and take the local train two stops to Monterosso in the Cinque Terre. Trains run from La Sepia to all five towns within Cinque Terre, as well as to major regional and national destinations. The Cinque Terre railway stations are located on the Genoa-Pisa Line. Most long-distance trains do not stop at all five Cinque Terre towns, making it necessary to transfer from La Spezia onto regional trains. Some intercity trains also stop at Monterosso station. For me, I was traveling from Milan and did not rent a vehicle deciding to take the train. When I got to the Monterosso stop, I jumped off. I say it this way, for you really have to pay attention on the train. Cinque Terre has five towns (remember what I listed above), and they are just listed on the board as stops along the route. Just have to pay attention.

Ok..train ride finished and now I have to find the little place that was rented for the stay. I soon realized, after walking and walking, that it was at the top of a little mountain. Step after step I went up. There were lemon trees nearby, and I definitely wanted some limoncello about this time. Finally, and quite a long journey, I make it to the little hotel. Come to find out, they had a little baggage carrier at the bottom that was battery powered that could have brought up the bags. Oh well, I just sweated it out with my backpack on my back. I got checked in, and I was exhausted. Time is a wasting, so out on the town I go.

Little more insight about this location. In October 2011, a torrential rain caused floods and mudslides in Cinque Terre. Nine people were killed and villages were severely damaged, particularly Vernazza and Monterosso al Mare. I mention, for this is where I was at, and there were pictures in some places that showed the devastation. The heavy rainfall event was favored by the crisis of the traditional and less remunerative cultivation of terraced landscapes which sixty years before started a progressive decline and reduction of maintenance. It was partially balanced by the vegetation that spontaneously developed on abandoned terraces, a role underlined by a part of the existing scientific literature.

Many walking trails run throughout the Cinque Terre. The most popular path is known as the Sentiero Azzurro ("Azure Trail"), used to connect the five villages. Due to the unstable environment, landslides frequently cause portions of the trails to be closed. The Sentiero Azzurro section from Riomaggiore to Manarola called the Via dell'Amore ("Love Walk") has been closed since fall 2019 and is expected to reopen in 2023. I did this on my last visit, and it has breathtaking views. Although this trail is closed, it is still possible to walk between these villages weather permitting, although the trail is both steeper and longer than the closed path along the waterfront.

Saying this, I went to the beginning of the trail to try to walk to the different cities. You have to walk up the road towards a beautiful hotel on the cliff-side to find the starting point. I get there, and after a very short distance, the trail was closed due to the weather. I was so bummed. I really wanted to do the six mile journey, all the while stopping along the way to enjoy the beautiful sights.

Seeing I couldn't walk the trail, and it was a little rainy, I went back towards my hotel to just mill around in Monterosso. I came upon a tour that would take you by boat to a little island off the coast that I thought might be very interesting. I went ahead and booked a tour, and was very excited to explore a new location.

The morning came, and it was with great anticipation I had for the new experience. I made my way to the loading dock and boarded the boat. It was a little journey to get to the destination, and I just sat back, relaxed, and enjoyed the ride. The waters were a shade of blue that is so beautiful, and as you pass by each Cinque Terre city, the captain would pull up and let the riders get a glimpse of the city, and would allow time for photos. I have been to each city before as mentioned, but this gave a different perspective and view. Seeing from the waterfront was so beautiful, and you could take in more of the city as a whole.

After about an hour journey or so, the boat pulls up to the dock in Porto Venere. Porto Venure, a Riviera gem overlooking the Gulf of La Sezia, more romantically known as the Golfo dei Poeti for all the literary figures who came to swoon over the area's astounding natural beauty, has often been dubbed the "sixth" Cinque Terre town, offering what its most famous counterparts are known for, - splendid seaside settings, extraordinarily scenic coastlines and walking trails, and rustic Ligurian cuisine - minus a good deal of tourist hubbub.

Upon exiting the boat, I noticed just how beautiful the island was. I started my journey, and I just wanted to see everything. I make my way to a fortress looking area, and you can climb the stairs to the top to overlook the Ligurian Sea. Gosh was it beautiful. Words can't describe. I went down to a gate that allowed you to go down to the actual sea and look inside of a cave. The rocks were a little slippery going down, but once down, it was a cool experience. I actually went under a rope (not sure if I was supposed too) to get to the cave on the sea. I went inside, and it was a pretty cool experience. Just cool...words can't describe.

I walked for what felt like miles on this island, around the fortress, going to a large grave yard, and just along the coast line. There was an absolutely stunning hotel located there that I so much desire to go back one day and stay. So beautiful the architecture and surroundings my words will not do it justice. After a nice lunch, spending time on the island figuring how I can make it back here one day, I get back on the boat back to Monterosso. Gosh how pretty!!

Make my way from the dock back up the hill towards my hotel. I had to stop on the way to get some limoncello, and this is another story for another day. It was yummy however!

So much fun! Wish I had more time. Maybe on another journey... Ok off to Pisa in the morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 222, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb