When in Rome...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio
May 30th 2007
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

...do as the Romans do. Well I am in Rome but have found it hard to do as the Romans do because it is rather hard to find Romans around the touristy places.
Rome is simply amazing! Walking through the center of town you run across ancient Roman walls and buildings. It is amazing to have new comercial buildings right next to places 2000 years old! The colleseum is amazing. The granduer of that structure rivals that of The Horseshoe but was build 1500 years ago. The most surreal moment of my trip has been walking toward it and as it grew larger and larger I could not stop thinking, "This is one of the most recognizable sights in the world and I am right outside it." Standing inside a vision came to me of thousands of bloodthirsty Romans screeming their disprovals and approvals, their gasps as the gladiators collided, their violence growing the intensity of the match, and their disturbingly eurphoric cry when a gladiator's blood was shed.
Today I was going to visted the Vatican City and not thinking about it came into the square to find thousands upon thousands of people jammed inside. It is a Wednesday and the pope was touring around in his pope mobile and I saw him. Quite amazing to say the least.
I have found that words such as amazing, incredible, splendid, awe inspiring, terrific, dumbfounding, etc. are the only words that I can seem to think of when I recall everything I have seen. Just a little musing there
I am going to see the Sixteen Chapel tomorrow and then head off to Florence for a spell and then Venice before it sinks into the see.
I will soon be home and I look forward to seeing everyone again!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb