You'll Never Walk Alone


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

3rd go at this one...
I made up my mind before I left to let myself go wherever the wind blew me. After a month and a half I have found that Europe is a very gusty place!
Italy was the plan until Tim and Will (my two English mates) told me that the European Champions League Finals were in Greece yesterday (the 23). So my sails caught that gust and here I am. The weather has been pretty terrible all week and have only done a very little sight seeing and have done none in Athens sadly. I have seen the Acropolis from afar but the weather has pervented me from going any nearer. It is wild to think about though, that there has been a civilized society of humans for nearly 2500 years!! To me that is dumbfounding and humbling, it makes me feel very small in the grand scheme of things (which I should).
Have really had a lot of wasted time sadly. Ferry here took forever, Athens was raining no go on sightseeing, just a real waste except for the Cup Final last night, now that was amazing!! It is kinda like a Buckeyes game but not quite. The game was between Liverpool (England) and AC Milan (Italy) and seeing as I have been traveling with two Brits I donned a Steven Gerrard #8 cheap rip off jersey and sang with my entire heart the Liverpool chants: Steven Gerrard Gerrard He strikes it from forty yard He's big and he's effing hard Steve Gerrard Gerrard and You'll Never Walk Alone If there is hope in your heart You'll Never Walk Alone!! It was been a wild and wonderful experience. I toyed with seeing a Greek isle or doing Mt. Olympus for a day but Italy is calling my name so I am going to leave Greece none the wiser of tourists destinations but much the wiser in experience.
So unless the storms brew up again it is Italy ASAP!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb