Personi simpatico - nice people


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Viterbo
October 26th 2010
Published: October 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ciao Tutti
Come State? it's been a while.
I am writing today A: because it is a rainy and wonderful day and B: to appreciate all of the nice Italians.
Although many in this small town glare at me and judge me everyday, there are some who are wonderful and they deserve some appreciation.
About a month ago i went shopping at one of the local stores. It is about 20 ft by 20 ft, its small and the man working there is a doll. On this particular day, I picked out everything I needed and put them into the mini basket and proceeded to check out. When I got to the counter, I realized I didn't bring my wallet, my friend was willing to cover for me but the man said "dopo, dopo" which means later. He kept insisting that I pay him later. It was such a wonderful and trusting gesture and it made my day. Later, the same day, I walked down the street to buy some wine. This wine place is so cool, you can just bring your own jug and they fill it with whatever kind of wine you want, the big jug is only 3 euros and the smaller one is about 2. So I filled my jug up with some vino and they were about to put it in a plastic bag, most people here insists on giving you as many bags as possible. I said "non Vorrei una Borsa", the polite way to say I don't want a bag. So he got me a cloth bag, put the bottle in it and didn't even charge me. This was a great day, these two simple gestures were so simple and wonderful.
Today, I got groceries at "Eden Fruits", one of the three shops i hit up about three times a week. The two women who work there know me by now, and they know that I don't like plastic bags, they were surprised when I came in one day and didn't bring my reusable ones. So, Today after I stocked up on vegetables and one of the woman weighed all of my stuff she added in a sprig of basil, GRATIS (free). I walked home in the rain holding my sprig of basil like a trophy with a big smile across my face.
These are just three incidents that really stood out to me, of course there have been many more small things that are just as wonderful. My roommates for example, have been so generous and fun. We have been eating meals together almost every night. Sitting around together for 3 hours, no matter how much studying they have to do, there is always time for a wonderful dinner with friends. I am so lucky to be living with such wonderful people.
These incidents have inspired me to do little kind gestures to people who's paths i may cross. It makes all the difference. It may make some ones day, as it did mine.
Hope all is well, Vi Voglio bene (Love you all)
ciao ciao

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb