Trip to Italy - Second Entry


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
February 6th 2014
Published: February 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It has been two days since my plane landed in Rome, Italy. So far, it has been such an incredible journey. I figured I would begin my trip with the capital city of Italy because it is a good place to start and there is so much for me to see here. I am staying at the Hotel Fontana Roma which is located in the heart of Rome. It has such beautiful architecture and art, and it really adds to the experience of being in this incredible city. It is also located relatively close to the world famous Colosseum, which was the first major landmark I visited.

The Colosseum is a world renowned landmark in Rome, Italy. It is also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre, and was built between the years 70 and 80. (Thats a long time ago) This building is massive. The size shocked me. It is made of stone and concrete, and it was actually at one point the largest amphitheatre in the Roman Empire. In its time. the Colosseum was used to host gladiator contests and other public events. It actually used to be completely round, however, over time it eventually began to deteriorate. In fact, some of the stone and concrete used to make the Colosseum was recycled and used to create other buildings and architecture in Rome. I spent a good deal of time there yesterday just taking photos and trying to imagine what it had once looked like. It was a wonderful experience.

The food here is incredible. Italian food is the best food that there is, and I have definitely over indulged in my fair share of pizza and pasta, even just in the last two days. There are beautiful restaurants all around me, and the more that I explore this beautiful city, the more I find. I have having such a wonderful time here, and I cannot wait to enjoy the next five days here. Tomorrow I will be taking a tour of the city, which is where I will see some of the aqueducts and original water fountains and structures of the city. I am really excited to learn more about Rome's culture and history, and to get a sense of how they lived so long ago.

After I leave Rome, I will be headed to Pisa, where I will spend five days exploring there and the surrounding area. I will obviously visit one of their most famous landmarks, the Leaning Tower of Pisa. I am excited to see this structure in person, as I have only seen photos and heard about it. I am curious to learn why it leans the way that it does and what stops it from tumbling. Maybe I will even take one of those cheesy photos that everyone takes where they pretend they are holding the tower from falling over. Maybe.

So far, my trip has been a worthwhile experience, however, it has only just begun. I am curious to see if eight days is enough time in this city, or if I find that is simply is not enough. I am excited to explore the rest of the country, but I am sure I will be sad to leave Rome. Maybe some day I will return. My next blog entry will be coming to you from Pisa, so I will share all of the beautiful experiences that I have yet to encounter in Rome. Until next time, thanks for reading!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb