Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 21st 2013
Published: July 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

RomeRomeRome

Dome of St Peters
Pics form Rome. The Coliseum (my favorite building), Vatican and the Pantheon. Rome is fun but I thought it was a little dingy. Lots of hotels and bed and breakfast. I stayed at a hostel but it was a private room and not the cheaper dormitory. I would have been older than anyone else in there by about 40 years. The room was ok but not worth $100. I stayed within walking distance of the train station at Termini and caught the metro to the historical sites. There are about four billion pictures of these three buildings in all the books that have been written about them. Here are a few more.

The Colosseum and surrounding grounds was 12E. I bought hte audio tour or another 5 and ended up going on another tour the showed the bottom levels where the gladiators came in for another 10E. All worth it.

I made the walk to the top of the dome at St Peters. Lots and lots of steps. I started taking pictures of them when I stopped to take breaks and get my heartrate back to about 300 beats per minute. It was worth it but no place for old men.

The Pantheon was free and not as crowded as I thought it would be.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Vatican
RomeRome
Rome

Dome at St Peters
RomeRome
Rome

On the climb to the top of St Peters
RomeRome
Rome

Steps up to the top of the dome at St. Peters
RomeRome
Rome

On top of the dome at St Peters
RomeRome
Rome

View from the dome at St Peters
RomeRome
Rome

More steps
RomeRome
Rome

More steps
RomeRome
Rome

Steps
RomeRome
Rome

St Peters


Tot: 0.425s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb