Day 30: Arrival in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 20th 2011
Published: July 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

The American Embassy has golden Arches
I traveled to Rome via Naples. The local train line from Sorrento to Naples was on time (for the first time in the four days I used it), so I ended up being almost two hours early for my my fast train to Rome. To kill the time and fill my stomach, I braved the Italian McDonalds. It was not fast food by our standards, but pretty fast for Italy. The fries were not as good, and in the end I think I prefer the McD's on the west side of Olympia, Washington, by the mall.

Quick Bus Tour with a New Friend
For my first two nights at the hostel I would be sharing a room with just one other person, Georgie from Australia, who arrived the same day as me. We decided to tour the city together on the open deck bus, to see what was where.

After a disappointing dinner at a cafe, we walked to the Trevi Fountain and threw in our coins and then to the Spanish Steps. It was 2am when I finally crawled into bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb