WE'RE ENGAGED!!!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 26th 2010
Published: January 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We're engaged!!!! Ian proposed today & of COURSE I said YES!!! Wanna hear the story? We have a little time. My family is going to love this one! 😊

So a few years ago, my uncle traveled to Rome a little while before my cousin did (hi Uncle Neal & Natalie!!!) & he hid a coin in the Colosseum & drew a little map for her to find it! She left a coin too & since then, many friends & family member have visited & left coins!! So of course, we had to find this nook & leave a coin too! It's raining here in Rome but we arrived at the Colosseum & started looking at the little treasure map & clues to find the nook with the coins. I'm short, & the nook is a bit high, so Ian would have to retrieve the coin. As I waited, watching him stick his hand in the nook, I hear him say "I feel something in here!!" He pulls out a STUNNING diamond ring & the first thought that went through my head was "who put a ring in there?!" (lol) I soon realized the ring was for me & Ian was down on one knee. I wish I could remember exactly what he said but I was in COMPLETE shock. He asked if I'd marry him and & said yes through my tears (and the raindrops)! It was SO romantic. Afterward, we pulled out 7 coins out of the slot!! We of course added our own (a 5 euro cent piece), took some photos, and went across the street to a little wine bar & restaurant & shared a bottle of wine. The perfect Italian proposal!! I love my ring & we're both SOOOO happy!!! :D

Off to the ship now, we are at sea for tomorrow and in Athens the next day. Internet onboard is 75 cents PER MINUTE so we can't get online much. Hope you're all doing well, I know we are!!!!

Advertisement



26th January 2010

Congratulations!!
Well done!! I'm very happy for you. You're little cousin will be so excited to hear the news!!!
26th January 2010

Soooooo Haaaaapppppy for you.
26th January 2010

Congratulations!!!
How very cool that is!!! And to select that spot to make the proposal and the way Ian did it... AWESOME!!! You just made that Colosseum locale all the more special! Congratulations, you two!!!
26th January 2010

How romantic!!!!
Congratulations Ian and Katie!!!! Neal sent this to my work address and I read it with a coworker. We both wanted to cry it was so romantic!!! Thank you for sharing your engagement story. You will be sharing this one for years! I look forward to following your trip once again! Have fun!!
26th January 2010

Congratulations!!!
Congratulations guys! I love you both very much and I'm so happy for you! We all knew Ian would do something right, Kate, and we're glad he picked you- welcome to the crazy Mills family!! (hey, we tried to warn you to get out while you still could - you're stuck now!) Hey Ian - good job on the proposal! I knew you would pick something perfect and you sure did - sounds amazing! She'll surely never forget it!!!! Congratulations again! Love you both! Hope you guys are enjoying every second there... Can't wait to talk wedding when you get back!!!!! =)
26th January 2010

AWWWWW!!!
Oh my GOSH I am SO so excited for YOUU BOTH!!!!! Awwww that is such an ADORABLE story! You deserve to be so happy! And I can't wait for the shimmy-shakin, rump moovin', wine-a-drinkin' good time! My dad may be good with hiding coins... but just you WAIT to see his moooves!! Hahahaa love you both! =)
26th January 2010

AWWWWW!!!
Oh my GOSH I am SO so excited for YOUU BOTH!!!!! Awwww that is such an ADORABLE story! You deserve to be so happy! And I can't wait for the shimmy-shakin, rump moovin', wine-a-drinkin' good time! My dad may be good with hiding coins... but just you WAIT to see his moooves!! Hahahaa love you both! =)
27th January 2010

YES!!!!
A WONDERFUL proposal, Ian! I am so very happy for both of you and am dying to seeing that stunning diamond ring. Miss you both even more. Well done!!!
27th January 2010

YES!!!!
What an absolutely WONDERFUL proposal, Ian. Perfect!! I can't wait to see the stunning diamond ring. So very sweet. Miss you both even more!
27th January 2010

Love it!
Oh Ian, such the romantic! Well I am soooo happy for you guys!!!!! I can't wait for your wedding! Love you both!! Kirsten
27th January 2010

How cute
That is the most precious thing I have ever heard. Enjoy the rest of your trip.
27th January 2010

CONGRATS!
Nice job Ian! You're so creative! I wish more guys were that creative! Anywho...I'm SUPER DUPER happy for you both! That's so awesome! Can't wait to see the ring! ;)
6th February 2010

Bravi!
Awesome story. I'm happy for you both! Congratulations, Zeph
6th February 2010

Congratulations
That is awesome, I am happy for the both of you! Congratulations and I wish you guys the best!! Have a great rest of the trip :)

Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb