All Roads Lead To... Gelato!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 18th 2009
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For more of my photos, or to buy my book, please visit www.nickkembel.com

I am publishing this blog as my summer days in Canada fly by, and I am counting down sleeps to my looming return to the great city of Rome, from where I will begin my overland journey from Europe to Asia.


Following my grand introduction to Europe at the stunning city of Venice, my travel companion Hannah and I continued our Italian journey with a stop in Verona, a most quaint and pleasant city located in the Veneto region of northern Italy. Famous as the setting for Shakespeare's most famous tragedy, Romeo & Juliet, Verona provided the perfect atmosphere for casual strolls through pretty streets, with a well preserved Colosseum-resembling amphitheater to boot. At night we retired to a bed & breakfast run by the most overwhelmingly hospitable woman I have ever met.


The next day we went on an disastrously epic series of train rides that culminated in us getting 350 Euro tickets for refusal to pay for the train we boarded after we had been lied to and purchased tickets for non-existent trains so many times. The day was only made less frustrating by the decision to get drunk mid-afternoon at a tiny train station in the middle of who knows where...


Our next stop was magnificent Florence, where we camped on a hill overlooking the city, and spent the days seeing some of the most famous artwork in the world, including David himself.


Our trip terminated in that place where all roads supposedly lead to. What can I say; Rome is as grand and beautiful as you might imagine, and nothing is more vivid than the Colosseum lit up just after the sun goes down and traffic circulates around it. My favorite thing about Rome, if I can chose one, is how you can just wander without even knowing which way you are going, turn corners, and come across works of art or architecture that you recognize from your university Art History textbooks and didn't even realize were there. In Rome the streets are ancient, the art is as good as it gets, and the monuments are so colossal that your neck is constantly strained from looking up.

For more of my photos, or to buy my book, please visit www.nickkembel.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



18th August 2009

Great fotos
Didn't read the script, short attention span, but loved the shots, great technique. Keep em comin.
16th November 2010
Statues, Vatican Museum

This is a very cool picture!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb