Alberta vs. Ontario, Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
September 4th 2009
Published: September 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For more of my photos, or to buy my book, please visit www.nickkembel.com

This summer, for the first time in my life, I felt like a tourist in my own country. I don't know if it was simply due to being away for so long, or the fact that being away for that long made me appreciate the beauty and diversity of my own country in a way that I never had before. Either way, the summer flew by, and I can't believe how much fun and exploration I squeezed into those 7 short weeks.

Only days after arriving home, I did a roadtrip with Leanne and friends to South Country Fair near Fort McLeod, Southern Alberta. All my life I have complained about the prairies, but now after having lived in Taiwan, one of the most densely populated regions in the world, I have a newfound respect for the immense vastness of the Alberta prairies, particularly at this time of the year when the vibrant canola flowers bloom and paint the landscape bright yellow.

Next I went up to Fort McMurray to visit Jen and Dean in their new house. I passed the days walking Shi-Lo in the beautiful trails in their neighborhood.

Later in summer I decided I couldn't leave Canada again without visiting it's most beautiful region, the Rocky Mountains. I drove up the David Thompson Highway, which connects Red Deer with the Icefields Parkway between Jasper and Banff, parked the car on the side of the road, and hiked up and over a mountain to the quaint little Allstones Lake where I camped and froze my ass off, forgetting that in Canada even summertime can bring near freezing temperatures. The next day I ventured into Banff National park and visited the famous 'Jewels of the Rockies', a series of stunning turquoise lakes that dot the valley along the highway.

Finally, before leaving Canada I got stuck in Toronto for three days waiting for my passport, and made the best of my time by exploring the city and making a trip to the amazing Niagara Falls, where Canada and the US face eachother across the one of the largest waterfalls in the world. I found Toronto to be more international and less trashy than my hometown, but did not appreciate that liquor stores are government owned and close at 8pm...

Overall, the best thing about my time in Canada was visiting with family and friends, but here are pictures of the pretty things I saw in between 😊

For more of my photos, or to buy my book, please visit www.nickkembel.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th March 2014
Hippy Van, South Country Fair, Alberta

from istanbul sultanahmed to katmandu
perfect life

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 36; qc: 131; dbt: 0.1722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb