Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, and Spooning on the Subway


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ohhhh my goshhhh, I never want to walk again. I thought that after putting the miles on my feet in every other city to prep, I (Sara) thought I could handle Rome. Nope. After putting in 8 hours of straight site-seeing, Rome has officially kicked my butt. I think it has definitely been a productive day: I woke up at 8 this morning and, not wanting to wake Leah, started mapping out our route for the day. It was slightly daunting with over 13 sites and museums to officially go and look at, and a bunch of other miscellaneous buildings to walk by and gawk at. Anyway, after Leah woke up we headed out to the city, starting with the Spanish Steps, which were, as predicted, jam-packed with tourists. That was a quickie and then we took a detour to see the much anticipated McDonald's in Rome. I know, strange site but this is the very first Italian McDonald's and let me tell you, it is a classy joint. I've never seen a fancier looking fast food restaurant and I've never seen skinnier people eating the fast food. Anyway, after that small digression we meandered to the Trevi Fountain and stood in peoples' way while they were trying to take artsy pictures. Phew, my fingers are getting sore just typing this all. I think I'll be a nuisance and leave it up to Leah to describe the rest of our adventures, but Rome is definitely on the map to impress: it is large and in charge. Really glad that we sucked it up and did our site-seeing, touristy thing, but it's the last time for this trip: I am officially burnt out. We got some really great pictures though and I'm eager to show them to everyone. P.S. I will never live in Rome because the transportation is RIDICULOUS. I hope Leah will touch on that, but there's a reason our headline includes spooning on the subway. Much love to you all and here's Leah, xoxoxo.


Ew ew ew ew ew. Ew. So I will explain what Sara is talking about re spooning on the subway. We were making our way to... god knows where, I forget now, but it involved taking the subway to get there. Unfortunately for us, half of Rome was going in the same direction. As our train pulled up, we realized that the ratio of people to cubic centimeters on the train was SLIGHTLY out of proportion. The doors thrust open, and a rush of hot, sweaty, sticky air spewed out and created a thick film on our skin. We squeezed ourselves into the crowd, and there was not a single inch to be spared. Bodies. Were. Touching. Behind me was some old man who was much too close for comfort, and there was a rare moment in which I wished that my butt were a lot smaller. Sara and I held hands to stay together, but my hand was very much in some guy's belly button. I got off the train wishing to bathe like I never have before (and I haven't yet, what on earth is wrong with me?) All in all, Rome has been... well, there is no place like Rome 😉 Tomorrow we are going to do nothing to make up for all the business of today, then it is off to the Cinque Terre! Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb